Assault to the Philippines' Highest

in #travel7 years ago

Off to the highest height

After my climb in Mt. Talinis (which I haven't posted yet) last February, I was immediately invited by my new mountaineering organization, the Parokya ni Basti, to climb Mt. Kitanglad and Mt. Dulang-Dulang in Bukidnon as well as Mt. Hibok-hibok. I declined every single invitation because I have to focus on my studies and I couldn't afford to fly to Mindanao and join them.


Image Source

They also planned to climb the Philippines' highest mountain located in Davao del Sur, Mt. Apo which was recently opened to climbers and tourists after the major forest fire that broke out March 2016. I was so hyped and was so jealous of everyone but I still declined their offer. Until last month (June), they finally persuaded me.

The Complications

1. Booking my flight was a hassle.

Sir Rhodel and Ate Marese convinced me to come down to Mindanao and told me that the registration fee for the climb is on them. Their statement definitely swayed me. At that time, I had to finish my thesis by the end of the week. I was already overthinking. My heart was fixed that I would go but my mind was telling me to wait until the end of the week.

Since I know that until the ticket's not yet paid, the booking isn't final, I booked my ticket. However, I didn't pay for it. I was still having second thoughts. After talking to Sir Rhodel again, I booked another round trip with different departure and return but I wasn't able to pay for it, too. When I booked again, the rates were higher and I thought, maybe I shouldn't go. Maybe that was a sign. But I really wanted to go so in the end, I booked my ticket that Monday, June 26, 2017 using my steemit payouts. Luckily, the Cebu Pacific tickets were suddenly on sale so I was able to spend less. Lucky me!

2. War broke out in Mindanao.

President Rodrigo Duterte proclaimed a state of Martial Law in Mindanao last May 23, 2017. It was due to the terrorist attack in Marawi by the Maute Group who pledged their allegiance to the Islamic State (ISIS). (Read the announcement here.) The declaration of 60-day martial law in Mindanao is supposed to end on July 22 before the president's State of the Nation Address (SONA).


Image Source

When I told my brother that I was going to Mindanao on July 26, he was enraged. He asked me to stay put and not go anywhere especially I'm a graduating student. He asked me if I was going to fight the terrorists there. I know he fears for my safety and I love him for that but I know a lot of people in Mindanao and I'll be staying in Davao. The war is in Lanao del Sur and neighboring provinces.

I asked my friends about the situation in Davao and they assured me it's safe. They told me that they can't feel the war there but the security was tightened. It was greater than normal and they told me that I should just bring identifications with me. Always.

3. I'm low on budget.

Yes. I'm actually having that problem. I was able to save but I suddenly need to use it and I'm low on budget. It's funny because it might be the complication that will stop me from coming down there. But I'm trying my best to reach that budget. I worked part time in a canteen last May to help a friend and I wasn't expecting to receive a pay. However, a few days ago, my friend told me he'll give me my wages. I hope he gives it before the day I'm supposed to leave. LOL. Other than that, I have steemit payouts. Hahaha. And hopefully, I can save enough of my allowance to finally complete my estimated budget on that Davao trip.

I always believed before that one shouldn't worry about money because God will provide. Just trust in Him. I didn't know that when you're stuck in that situation where you certainly need the money and you don't know where you can get one because you have exhausted your options, you won't even think about it. (I'm not pertaining to my current money problem. It's a situation much, much worse.) Still. Still, one should hope that God will provide. No. Not hope. Have faith. Have faith that God will provide.


I bet this trip would be worth it. This'll be awesome! Block the negativity and think of just the happy thoughts.




Sort:  

I can be your photographer next time? How many days climb is that???

Wow. Thank you po. It's a 3 day climb tita. We'll be doing a traverse.

Should be ok, shouldn't it? a lot of stops ;)

I hope so tita.

Malayo naman sa Marawi but be extra vigilant pa ren.

Yes po tita. I will be. I hope everything goes well.

More probably it will :)

E baka daw po ma-extend pala ang Marshall Law. Wala pa po akong balita e.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60