You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Athens—where are all the dicks?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Holly shit I was mortified by the Boom story (Venetians bombing and pillaging ._.) I was gonna say what a pity that so much of everything left is just ruins, I can see why now. And I'm sad for the unsuccessful restoration attempts.

Also all of this makes me worried about how they would take care of artifacts if Greece got them back. Maybe they should get a money cut of the profits or compensation :S I really hope to see the British museum someday.

Your photos are incredible ^^ Very nice lighting. Plus I'll try to remember to keep Google tracking on next time I go sightseeing :D

Annnd I'd love to see the dickless statues :P

Don't forget to review that nice guide guy! ^-^

Sort:  

Thanks Kristy. Actually the Acropolis museum was built especially to correctly house these artifacts so they won't be damaged by damp or anything. It's one of the most modern museums (in this sense) in Europe. It was the excuse the British were using forever. So the Greeks built a museum and now the British just refuse to give them back.

Well you have me convinced :D
Should definitely spread that knowledge ^^
Well; I hope they'll return the artifacts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51