London Calling | My Absolute Favorite City In The World

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

We traveled to London a few days after the terror attack happened..

Hello Steemit friends! How are you?

My boyfriend and I are planning a trip to London this summer. Planning this trip made me want to look at some pictures from last year's London trip with him and my nephew. We bought my nephew his first trip to London, and had a really nice time. I've been to London many times before, and I have always wanted to show him what I've always talked about. He got so exited when we told him we were going to London.

DSC02719-2.jpg

A few days before we were leaving for London, the terror attack on Westminster Bridge happened. We weren't sure if we should go, but we made the decision to leave and take extra precautions. Since this was my nephew's first trip, we decided to not go and see the terror site. I didn't want him to remember Big Ben and London Eye like that.

DSC02680-2.jpg

Arriving in London you could tell that something had happened. There was a lot of police everywhere. I've been to London many times, and I could clearly see the difference. Instead of rarely seeing any police, we saw police in groups of four with what looked like machine-guns. That made our experience in London feel a lot safer.

DSC02705-2.jpg

We chose a hotel a little bit outside the city center, about 15 minutes with a car (I can't remember where..), and used an Uber to get around. London is definitely my favorite city to visit. I fell in love with this city when I was 12 years old when my mom brought me with her. The opportunities are endless, and there are so much to see.

DSC02710-2.jpg

Learning that there had been an attack in London made me really scared. One of my best friends lives there. The first thing I did when I heard about it was to get in contact with her and make sure she was okay. And she was. I was very relieved, but also very sad. I get very emotional when it comes to things like this. This is something that eat me up inside, and I have trouble sleeping.

DSC02713-2.jpg

Anyway, I took a lot of photos during our stay, and I wanted to share them with you. Photographing in London was so much fun! I just wish I knew then, what I know now about settings and how to take a good picture. But that just shows how much one can develop in a short time. I have re-edited them though. I think they turned out a lot better then what I did last year.

DSC02716-3.jpg

We did some planning before we left Norway, but not too much. We also just wanted to see what we felt like doing each day. But we saved some money by ordering tickets for a musical online before we left though. My nephew used to be a die-hard-fan of Michael Jackson when he was a kid. Still a fan, but not to that extreme. So we decided to see Thriller. I really liked it. The cast was very talented.

DSC02797-2.jpg

We also did a lot of shopping in Oxford Street of course. So there was a lot of walking, and what's better then taking a break at Pizza Hut? Nothing. They seriously have the best pizza. But have in mind that there might be a long line of people waiting to get in. So don't go at a normal lunch hour. I recommend going a little bit earlier.

DSC02755-2.jpg

I love that you can make your own exactly the way you like it. I'm a huge fan of pizza (who isn't?), and getting to choose whatever I want is perfect!

DSC02756-2.jpg

And you get it in your own pan! With a bowl of salad (more like chips for us) on the side. I think you also could get free ice cream, but I'm not sure though. Anyway, it tasted amazing. We went to Pizza Hut more then one time because of how easy and good it was.

DSC02763-2.jpg

My favorite part was free refill of Pepsi Max..Yep, I'm addicted..

Visiting Madame Tussauds is a must. I took a lot of photos inside, but I thought I'd share those in another post. This post would be a mile long if I shared everything here.

DSC02769-2.jpg

We got together with that friend of mine who lives here, and asked if she wanted to join us at a restaurant. Ever since I tried Belgo's mussels in 2009 I've wanted to eat them again, and I finally got the chance. And they didn't disappoint.

DSC02717-2.jpg

They were perfect. Everyone else didn't like mussels, so I think they ate burgers or something. I've always loved seafood, especially shellfish.

DSC02869-2.jpg

This was such an amazing trip, and I can't wait to go back. This post have become very long now, so I'm ending it here. I've done a few travel-tip-posts before, and I think it would be fun to do the same with London. But I'll split them up in different categories so it won't be too confusing.

DSC03033-2.jpg

I really hope you liked my post, and as always all feedback is very much appreciated!

By the way, if you have any London-tips; what to see, restaurants to visit, or places that are not filled with tourists, please leave me a comment. I love checking out new places.

Have a nice day.

Kristin.

Sort:  

What a lovely trip!
The pictures are just amazing!

Thank you so much, @mahaow! :)

London is a place I DEFINITELY want to visit with my husband! What is the "shortest" amount of time you'd suggest visiting? Not because I want to stay only a minimum amount of days of course, but I've been places before where I felt like I didn't stay near long enough to see all I wanted to see. Your pics are amazing! :) I just "wanderlusted" over your blog :D

As you should, @madirose! London is absolutely amazing. I'd recommend staying at least 4 days, but if you live further away from London then I do, I would recommend staying longer. You won't regret visiting London! Thank you so much for your kind comment. I really appreciate it. And I'm sorry for not replying sooner!

Lucky girl 😊 Best wishes

London er en bra by ja. Uendelige muligheter til å oppsøke og oppleve alt en måtte ønske seg. Veldig gøy å kunne oppsøke flere deler av verden i en og samme by.
Det er jo litt synd at terroren legger et lite lokk på det, men det er vel akkurat det de er ute etter, at folk skal bekymre seg og være redde. Men er enig i det dere gjorde, heller ta litt ekstra forhåndsregler, og ikke la terroren stoppe oss!

@svein

Ja, London er fantastisk! Håper jeg får reist tilbake snart. Ja, det er veldig synd. Men jeg er veldig glad for at vi bestemte oss for å reise. Vi hadde en fantastisk tur!

I visited London couple years back and it was amazing! your photos are really well taken, I've followed you and hope i get to see more of your posts!

Yes, it really is amazing @jihyunr! Thank you so much, I really appreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59