Michigan's State Capitol Building - Lansing, MI

in #travel6 years ago

Michigan's State Capitol Building -

Capitol Avenue at Michigan Avenue

Lansing, MI 48933

The State Capitol Building is absolutely breathtaking. I have visited it a few times in my life, but this is the first time I ever took my kids to view it.

Fast Facts

  • Elijah E. Myers designed the building.
  • This is the third Michigan State Capitol Building, the first was actually located in Detroit.
  • Construction started in 1872 and lasted 6 years.
  • It is 267 feet tall from the ground to the very top.
  • Sits on over an acre of land.
  • Has a collection of trees dedicated to various things on it's front lawn (see wiki for more information).



Senate Gallery

The building is under construction, so we were not able to visit the room where the House of Representatives meets. We were able to view the Senate's quarters from the gallery and from the ground floor.

  • Senate: 38 members
  • House: 110 members



Supreme Court

The highest court in the land. Well, in the land of Michigan anyways.



Some of those trees I mentioned before. Next time I visit I intended to sit under these trees and have a picnic.

Looking up and Looking down

The third photo I took while laying on the glass floor that is located on the second floor of the four story building. The building really is gorgeous, the pictures do not do it justice. There are balconies all around the third and fourth floor where you can peer into the other side or way up or way down. As a person who is not a fan of heights I was not terrified but it did make me a bit uncomfortable.



This is my favorite photo I captured.

If I worked here I wouldn't be mad. Politics aren't something I am super involved in and as a Libertarian I may be a bit out of place. Maybe someone needs a secretary or I could give tours, that would be neat. I bet there is a big big old library tucked in there somewhere, I could be happy surrounded by books all day.

Thank you for visiting my State's Capitol with me!!!

All the love-

krazykrista

If you have never been to our Discord, you should check it out!

Come visit us in Whaleshares Discord: https://discord.gg/NTKXJhK
I'd Love to meet you!!

Sources:

Sort:  

That is some damn fine photography I had zero idea that you were quite so talented with the camera and you captured the majesty and sheer epicness of the buildings vast halls beautifully.

That cavernous dome is stunning in its scale and intricacy and as you quite aptly stated breath-taking! I too could quite happily be around those dusty old volumes of history happily too, books are sadly disappearing from modern life faster than the bees!

I am loving the almost concentric circle effect of your downward shot from the upper floors, incredibly effective and visually intriguing almost like an optical illusion.

I hope the boys were able to appreciate it with a measure of enthusiasm for the sheer scale of the structure, awesome that you got to share it with them either way.

I suggest you steer well clear of politics Missy, the constitution did not and could not allow for the K-factor! Seeing pudgy, jowly, old elitist types hurtling from that 3rd floor balcony is not a good look with regard to career advancement.

Gratz at being a photographic whizz and for sharing your cool visit to an incredibly historic, atmosphere steeped building.

Wow! this place is awesome. Nice shots

The last photo is my favorite too! The tile patterns and the bannisters make a great pattern. Awesome to take your kids to historical places and probably fun for them too!

The kids loved it, they were actually shocked that we could just waltz in, we had to explain to them that this was "our house" so as long as it is open we can go right in.

Marvelous Architecture.

Looks like fun! It's been ages since I visit my state capital, hope one day I can visit. This post definitely made me miss Washington D.C (museums in DC). Hope the kids had a great time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85