My trip to Easter IslandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

.jpg
A lone moai with others in the distance within walking distance of the only town on the island, Hanga Roa.

As a child Easter Island always fascinated me. It was always a dream to get there. This past April I was lucky enough to find an awesome error fare from Washington DC to Santiago Chile for $158 round trip. I had to go. I had to see the Moai, pronounced Moe-eye.

Then there is the flight from Santiago to the Island. This flight usually runs around $400-500 but I was happy to get it for $382 RT.
ei10.jpg
Old school loading on the tarmac.

I opted to stay for 6 days. I thought I would really get to know the island.

I booked a tour for the first and second days that included a private guide and an air conditioned van. This was actually a good deal but not cheap. The daily tour was $225. Expensive but worth it. The guide took me to all the places that really mattered.

ei4.jpg
a solitary Moai near the quarry.

ei2.jpg
The largest number of Moai together, 17 in all.

ei5.jpg
A Moai still lying in the quarry. They were carved in place and then transported around the island. There is one still lying in the quarry that measures 65' tall.

ei7.jpg
Several Moai on their way out of the quarry abandoned in place.

I also rented a quad while there. They are legal to drive on all the roads and much more fun than a car. The price was $50 per day for a quad. A very small car would cost the same but not quite as fun in my eyes. They also rent bigger and nicer cars/jeeps but there is no need for that due to the fact that there aren't any places to drive "off road"

After the first 2 days I set off exploring on my own. The island isn't that large so getting to any point on the island is pretty easy. There are a couple of nice beaches that weren't crowded at all during the week when I visited but I hear they can get quite busy on the weekends. There are no real waves so don't expect any surfing and the water is quite cool.

ei11.jpg
There are only 2 beaches of any substance on the island.

ei12.jpg
Most of the coast line is volcanic rock and very rough.

After about the 3-4th day I honestly had enough. It was a lot of the same. Get up drive around. see the Moai. eat luch. Drive around some more. Eat dinner.

ei8.jpg
Actually eating dinner was pretty good. There are several good restaurants with great views of the ocean

ei9.jpg
and the freshest seafood.

ei3.jpg
Dinner with a view of the sunset is always a pleasant time no matter where you are.

I would recommend spending 3-4 days at most unless you are a serious scientist. It's nice, it's odd, it's interesting but after a few days it's enough.

I would recommend maybe spending a few days in Santiago prior to or after your trip to Easter Island. It's a beautiful city with a lot to offer.

Mark
enjoy the journey not just the destination

Sort:  

Congrats @kramj. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :). Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-25th-june-2017-2017625t22520311z

awesome, thanks

wow wonderfull

Astonishing view and what a incredible place to visit !

I didn't read the post, but had a look at the photos you posted and they are really great. However, I can't pic my favorite though I lean to the volcanic rock ocean photo, after the beach photo.

UPVOTED & FOLLOWED please return the favour.

@kramj - Thanks for the insight! I've always been fascinated with Easter Island too☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50