Mud Volcanoes In Kerch, Crimea

in #travel7 years ago

Mud Volcanoes

A mud volcano or mud dome is a landform created by the eruption of mud or slurries, water and gases. There are several geological processes that may cause the formation of mud volcanoes. Mud volcanoes are not true igneous volcanoes as they do not produce lava and are not necessarily driven by magmatic activity. The Earth continuously exudes a mud-like substance, which may sometimes be referred to as a "mud volcano". Mud volcanoes may range in size from merely 1 or 2 meters high and 1 or 2 meters wide, to 700 meters high and 10 kilometers wide.

Today I got the chance to experience some mud volcanoes nearby my hometown Kerch. As you can see on the map above, they are located quite close to the city center actually, 22 minutes is not too big of a distance to travel by car.
The roads in Kerch are okay let's put it that way, of course it doesn't apply to the outskirts of the town, however you will have to prepare to drive your car on a dirt road for quite a bit, so I'd suggest an SUV for this trip.



I was not quite sure what the best time to visit would be, perhaps they are more active at a different time of the year, however I was happy to witness one of them in action and it was pretty sweet. Unfortunately, I didn't think to feel it at the time, later on today, when I was editing the photos, I was like: "Hmmm, I wonder how warm it is.." But it was too late to experience it. Either way, I did it a little research and found out that the volcano mud is kind of cool, even on a hot summer day its temperature is about +19C.

Walking around, being amazed by all these natural wonders and taking pictures I didn't notice how I stepped into the mud myself. Within just a second almost half of my body went deep into the mud, for a moment I got scared because I thought it would suck me in, but it didn't I was fine! I got out alive and well, phew!
The mud felt really thick and I think it was normal temperature too. It wasn't distinctively warm or cold.
I read that these local muds are rich in boron, iodine and soda which are good for the body and apparently healing. I am not sure that is true though. I was just really dirty.

My feet looked like a reptile skin, which I thought was funny. I was happy to take that mud off though.

This is the spot where I got out of the mud trap!



Even though I was covered in mud and could no longer wear my shoes, I didn't stop my adventure and proceeded to explore more. I was rewarded with a pretty sweet little mud volcano that was actually active.

Most volcanoes are quite calm, but I read that powerful eruptions occasionally happen, sometimes a mud fountain can erupt up to 15 meters high. Luckily it didn't do it in my face haha.


Mud volcanoes are fun and I definitely recommend vising this spot if you're into cool things like that!

Washing my legs off in some lake-like water source with cows was quite a unique experience as well!

See ya!

Sort:  

Carefully there! In ancient times in such mud traps fell dinosaurs and perished in agony .
Nevertheless there are beautiful places :)

That's an interesting theory! Thanks!

I never even heard of those before. Good thing it wasnt lava! A few people every year go across the caution rope at the the geysers at Yellowstone and end up being scalded!

I don't think I would risk getting that close to lava or an actual volcano haha, that would be dumb.

Great Adventure kotturinn ..... It look like you are on another planet on the solar system.... you are so adventurous and brave girl I know it today.... this was totally unique to me as I have some information about volcanoes and read and watch about volcanoes.... But Mud volcano is unique and beautiful phenomena of the nature.... so I knew this amazing phenomena today with my brave friend kotturinn ..... It show that Kerch (Crimea) has many assets for tourists .... the images and video are so nice that I feel so close to the beautiful spot on earth.... I am serious kotturinn if NASA or national geographic find this post and know about you they will contact you..... I am again happy today kotturinn, that I am taking tea and read your wonderful article.... Have a great time @kotturinn ...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Thanks! I am happy I got to check it out. Funny thing is that I lived in kerch for over 20 years and I had no idea that place was there, such a shame! But then I watched a TV show and they were talking about the mud volcanoes, I couldn't believe it that they existed just right there haha.
I would like to see more of them erupt!

I also like these kind of adventures and trips .... and you are lucky that you are enjoying the beautiful nature in your homeland ... 20 minutes drive is nothing ... It means you are so closed to the mud volcanoes... one thing that you have done risky is when you stepped into the mud. I think that was not good practice ... please don't repeat this again..... you are looking good in the pic... the beautiful photograph of cows shows that how much you love animals....

Thanks! Adventures are always fun! I didn't expect to fall into the mud, the surface appeared to be safe, oh well, I will be more careful now!

Классная грязь. Был в Керчи несколько раз, но до грязи не добирался))

Нужно нанести очередной визит!

Сейчас не могу. Когда там все устаканится, то обязательно. Особенно люблю Южный берег.)

А что должно устаканиться? У меня проблем никаких не возникало, уже второй год приезжаю.

Через Россию ехать далеко, а через Украину не пропускают.((( Самолет только через Москву, что тоже не удобно. Поэтому, я подожду. Крым от меня никуда не уйдет.)))

Ahh! The feeling of dried mud between toes gives me goosebumps just thinking about it! Glad you didn't get sucked in all the way- and that you survived to share these awesome photos. Such a crazy interesting landscape there! Resteemed!

Thank you @jamorebeet! I quite enjoyed checking it out, it did suck falling in, I was so pissed, but then I laughed about it haha

beautiful place, beautiful pics...looks like you had lots of fun, you've got my follow :D

Well, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed my post, thank you!

wow, it's very interesting article @kotturinn! maybe one day this place will be tourist attraction... or am i being too optimistic? :D

Well it is an attraction for tourists visiting Crimea, it's just not a popular one haha

That mud looks like something I would put on my face :D
And with this amount of it there I would probably put it all over me! And pretend I am a hippo :p

Love the empty scenery there too.

Yeah the scenery is pretty sweet, kind of looks like a desert almost. There is mud lake near kerch too, that kind of mud people smear all over themselves and then wash it off in the sea haha

Oh I would so do that too :D

Wow nice :)

Thanks!

How i wish i could experience this place @kotturinn! Seems so fun!
These mud traps are quite similar to moving sand i believe, it only suck you like half body then you are stable, but still very scary!
Wonderful photos!
Love it!
@progressivechef

Thank you! I enjoyed checking them out, hated being covered in mud though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95