Walking around the Medina of Marrakesh, Morocco

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

Today I will talk about my visit to the Medina of Marrakesh. Marrakesh is divided into two distinct parts: the Medina, the historical city, and the new modern district called Gueliz. The Medina is full of narrow passageways and local shops full of character. In contrast, Gueliz has modern restaurants, fast food chains and big brand stores (1).

The Moroccan houses (riads) are traditionally built around an interior garden or courtyard. That's why from the street level one normally sees just their front door.

Walking around the Medina

It was quite entertaining walking around the Medina. Of course despite marking various landmarks, I did manage to lose my bearings, and I had to ask the locals how to get back.

Finding my way around Gueliz, the new district, was so much easier!

Railway station (Gare de Marrakech)

Walking around Gueliz

In my ramblings I came across this place called "Cooperative El Fath Des Maroquiniers". It was a collection of many shops around a beautiful courtyard. There was a lot of dainty items for sale quite pretty, leather, jewelry, souvenirs as well. I would recommend, if you visit Marrakesh, that you look out for this place, as it has very good prices. I bought an engraved leather folder and loads of leather slippers that were so thin and yet so comfy.

Oh, and don't forget to haggle! It's the custom here.

Cooperative El Fath Des Maroquiniers

And that's the end of today's post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one. Have a good day and speak to you soon!

References
1.Text from http://wikitravel.org/en/Marrakech.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

My city nice pictures

thank you achim86! nice city.

Awesome koskl would love to visit and the difference between the districts is very noticeable, I heard its dangerous there from a colleague who is Moroccan, how did you find the food? Also a very BIG thank you for your support and donation, thank you sooo much I will most likely add it towards power to help steemit and of course give back to the community. I cant thank you enough hope you had a good xmas.

np simonjay. i was very careful with the food, because I have had bad experiences from other places. No water, ice cubes, washed fruit or veg. Only food that is dry, well cooked, etc. No problem there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63