Visiting Turtle Island, Bali, Indonesia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

Today I am going to talk about my visit to the Turtle Island, near Bali, Indonesia.

The Turtle Island, a small island in the south of Bali, houses a number of green turtles, an endangered species protected by the Indonesian government. It also accomodates other animals like snakes, hawks, parrots, bats, and porcupines (1).

I visited the island on July 2009, and from what I remember it was a very hot day, the hottest day of my holiday there.

We approached the island by boat, and I took pictures of the many mangrove trees I saw on our way to the island.

Mangrove trees

Locals fishing

Approaching the island

Mangrove forest

There was a lot of turtles there of many sizes, from baby ones to really big ones, weighing probably more than me! I didn't see any Teenage Mutant Ninja ones though :D

Mummy turtle and baby turtles

Beautiful plant

A hawk ?

Porcupines

There was also the option of a glass bottom boat tour which I took, and it was fun. And free time to do whatever you wanted.

I swam and sunbathed, but you could do a lot of things there, like jetskiing and parasailing.

Parasailing

Needless to say, I had a very good time there. I loved the turtles, and all the other animals.

I would also like to share with you a video I took of the baby turtles;


Video of baby turtles

and another one I found on Youtube, showing something I've never seen before;

Water sports at Turtle Island

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one.

Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from https://www.water-sports-bali.com/turtle-island-bali/

Sort:  

looks fun

Great travel impressions @koskl, thanks for sharing and I love turtles!!! :-)

thank you future24. yes, they are funny!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79