Visiting the crocodile farm on Tonlé Sap, Cambodia

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

In this post, I will talk about the crocodile farm on the lake Tonlé Sap in Cambodia, which I visited back in July 2008. I covered the floating village of Tonlé Sap in my previous post, which you can read, if you so wish, here.

The crocodile farm breeds mainly Siamese crocodiles, a critically endangered species in the wild. They are also known as soft-bellies, because of the tender skin on that part of their body (1).

Animal lovers may say that the crocodiles shouldn't be kept in farms. I believe that if they were let out, they wouldn't survive, unless a habitat was found for them.

Anyway, it was a great experience for me visiting the crocodile farm, as I had never seen a crocodile from so near.

Some of the crocodiles came out to say hi, and soak up the sun. Other crocodiles stayed in the shade; they probably didn't want any wrinkes.

Mind the gap

The shy one

The gang leader

There was also a smaller one; he wanted to come out and bask in the sun, but was wary of the gang leader.

And there was a baby crocodile, too! Well, not a baby exactly, but small enough to get in your hands, and pose for a photo. Gagged of course.

Baby crocodile

I noticed a platform where you could climb up, and overlook the village and the lake. I got up there, and took a couple of pictures.

The lake in the background

The floating village

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next one. Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siamese_crocodile.

Sort:  

Reminds me the baby crocs with Captain Hook, adorables! Great experience!

yes it was. the baby crocodile was awfully cute.

Very nice, looks like you had a great time.
Why's the water looking so dirty though? Is it just the way it is there or were there floods?

thank you infomania!
that's the water there for some reason.
it was like that in the siem reap river in the town too.

Ohh I see.
Anyways, cool blog!
Upvoted and followed.

thank you!

I love crocs beautiful animals

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93