Visiting Rochester, south England

in #travel8 years ago

Hello friends,

Today I will talk about Rochester in Kent, south England. Rochester is a riverside town, situated on the banks of the river Medway, about 50 km from London.

Rochester was for many years a favorite of Charles Dickens, who based many of his novels on the area. Its history though goes back to the Neolithic Era, and has been occupied by Celts, Romans, Jutes and Saxons (1).

Because of its position near the confluence of the Thames and the Medway, it was so important, that a castle was built to protect it: Rochester Castle.

Rochester Castle from www.themaritimegallery.co.uk

I visited Rochester back in May 2008. It was a beautiful day, and I enjoyed walking along the streets of this town, which had all the necessary ingredients of a good day out; i.e. cosy little restaurants, pubs, and many quaint little shops. I took of course pictures of the Castle and the buildings that intrigued me, and I would like to share them with you.

Tudor style Eastgate House

Beautiful buildings in Rochester

Rochester Castle managed to survive many sieges, and is today one of the best preserved keeps in England or France.

Rochester Castle

The view from the Rochester Castle out to the river was also quite impressive.

View from the Rochester Castle

And that was the end of my day journey, and today's post too. I hope you liked my pictures, and that you will follow me to my next post. Have a good day, and speak to you soon!

References
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rochester,_Kent.

Sort:  

Every single house other there looks like a castle in its own right :)

thank you herverisson! Merry Christmas.

England är mycket Fint och bra Land

thank you ardina! Merry Christmas.

Thank you for posting @koskl. These are lovely photographs showing some of Englands finest properties and views.

Appreciate you bringing England to Steemit.

All the best. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41