Visiting Angkor Wat, Cambodia

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

In this post, I will talk about Angkor Wat, a beautiful temple in Cambodia, which I visited back in July 2008. I first spotted the temple while watching the film Lara Croft: Tomb Raider (2001). After some googling on the web, I found out where this place was, and resolved to visit it one day. Took me a while, but I got there in the end.

Angkor Wat (Khmer: "Capital Temple") is actually the largest religious monument in the world, and arguably the most famous temple in Cambodia. It was originally constructed as a Hindu temple, dedicated to god Vishnu, by the Khmer King Suryavarman II, in the early 12th century. By the end of the 12th century though, it had gradually been transformed into a Buddhist temple.

The whole complex covers an area of 162.6 hectares (402 acres), which includes the main temple, and many other buildings. It is surrounded by a wall and a moat, filled with water.

The main temple consists of a quincunx of towers, i.e. five towers, one tower at the center of a square, and four towers in each corner of the square, and is surrounded by its own wall (1).

Angkor Wat is world renowned for the grandeur of its architecture, its beautiful reliefs, and for the numerous devatas adorning its walls.

The main temple

The temple's five towers

Devanas guarding the temple

Impressive reliefs on the walls

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next one. Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angkor_Wat.

Sort:  

hi @koskl
just checked my feed and you came up :-) nice to see some pictures of angkor wat.
i never made it to over there ^^ but i have seen many similar.
now i have an idea what i have missed and do not need to go there anymore hahaha
i guess i have visited to many of those places
have a nice day my friend :-)

thank you @chrisx. did you read my post about Pre Rup? i've got your name there.

nope, just had a look :-) great f.... picture mate... hehehe yeah its exaclty that kind of pic i like. i hope you doing some yourself, but i can understand that it's not easy to stay that long., to catch a nice sunset. but to be honest i just came by because i'm checkin on my people who i follow :-) sort them out a bit... in the beginning i was like... yeah lets add them all and sort them out later ^^ nope nope nonoonono ^ hahaha the melon have changed ^^

tell me about it. i look at my feed sometimes, and it's 100+ posts. and i don't follow many people to be honest.
i don't know how some people manage, following 500 +

hahaha yes, it'S magic i guess

Angkor Wat looks beautiful! Should visit some day. :)

thank you! yes, it was awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65