The beautiful terraces of Santorini, Greece

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello friends.

Today, I would like to show you some pictures of the terraces of Santorini. As I mentioned in a previous post, Santorini is the remnant of a volcanic eruption, and that explains its semi-circular shape. It's basically half a caldera, if you look closely at it.

The locals chose to build their houses at the top, but of course during the years more and more visitors increased the demand for accommodation, which led to all these beautiful terraces, that look towards what used to be the mouth of the volcano.

On a warm, sunny day, it's pure bliss to be able to sit on these terraces, and look away towards the sparkling waters and the clear blue sky.

The beautiful terraces of Santorini

As I love spas, jacuzzis and swimming pools, I couldn't resists taking these pictures too:

I hope you like my pictures today. There will be more in the next post, as well as some advice about food and drink in Santorini!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @koskl. Lovely photographs.

The first photograph tells the story of the good news of salvation through Jesus Christ. How awesome is that photograph with the cross and its shadow.

Happy travels. Cheers.

thank you bluejay. it's a beautiful place!

This place is beautiful. Where exactly is it? Do you live here, or do you just visit?

Santorini is an island of Greece. It's there:

I visited, i don't live there. 8-)

Ah, I see. You should probably visit more often - or move there. I would if I could.

I am glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43