Roaming the streets of Essaouira, Morocco

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

Today I am going to share with you some pictures of the beautiful little shops of Essaouira, a seaside coastal town of Morocco.

The town was full of little outlets selling souvenirs, leather items, jewels, etc, that seriously tempted me to buy something. Unfortunately I was over my budget, and spent all I had on something far more mundane; I treated myself to a fancy seafood meal.

Looking at the pictures, I regret now I did not invest that money on a nice kilim rug or a tagine pot, but of course it's too late.

Various shops of Essaouira

Traditional restaurant of Essaouira

After my lunch, I went to the central town square to have a coffee, and wait for the rest of the group to assemble.

The group guide later told us that on that same square, Moulay Hassan square, slaves were auctioned and sold prior to their departure to the new worlds. That place was therefore the last place a family would be together, if they were sold to different buyers, before their long journey ahead.

Moulay Hassan square from a10.res.cloudinary.com

And that's the end of today's post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one. Have a good day and speak to you soon!

Sort:  

Nice photos, Upvoted and following :)

thank you ourlifestory! happy new year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40