My excursion to Marsaxlokk, Malta

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Marsaxlokk is a picturesque fishing village in the South Eastern Region of Malta. It's history goes back to the Temple Period (3,150-2,500 BC). It was in the Marsaxlokk's bay that the first Phoenicians landed and started trading on Malta, during the ninth century BC (1). Since then, Marsaxlokk has been visited by many races and cultures, who left their mark on the place.

It's such a pretty village that definitely deserves a visit. It's also an excellent place to eat fresh fish, as most of Malta's fish supplies are caught by fishermen coming from this place, and then distributed throughout the island.

I was lucky the weather was good when I visited (it was summer after all), so the colors were vibrant and the water was glistening.

Parish Church of Our Lady of Pompei

Pictures from Marsaxlokk's central square

The red telephone booth and the red letter box in the central square are probably British legacy.

I loved the many colorful, traditional fishing boats called luzzu . The painted eyes on these luzzus are believed to protect the boats from danger. Luzzus have existed since ancient times (2).

Luzzu boat with painted eyes (3)

Views of Marsaxlokk's bay

Best day to visit Marsaxlokk is Sunday, as there is a very busy market that sells everything from fish to souvenirs. I enjoyed my visit there, so I highly recommend it.

This is my last post about Malta. Next thread of posts will be about Venice. So stay tuned!

References:
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marsaxlokk
2.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luzzu
3.Image from http://pergolahotel.com.mt/

Sort:  

What lovely photographs @koski. Malta is calling. The Parish Church of Our Lady of Pompei seems very familiar. You do not think it was the one filmed in The Taming of The Shrew with actress Elizabeth Taylor, do you.? The similarities are uncanny.

Thanks bluejay. I haven't seen the film, so I can't comment. It could be the same one!
Yes, Malta is a good choice, it's got history, nature, it's well priced. I had a good time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64