Impressions from Istanbul, TurkeysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago

Hello friends,

Before I start a new thread of travel posts on another country, I would like to sum up my travel experience in this beautiful city, Istanbul. Istanbul is a city with a very long history, previously known as Constantinople and Byzantium. It is a transcontinental city in Eurasia, straddling Europe and Asia, and the most populous city in Turkey (1).

It was late February 2009 when I visited Istanbul. It was cold and grey, but the sun was occasionally out. I would love to go there again during summer, and see the waters of Bosphorus sparkle in the sunshine, so we'll see. It was a cheap holiday from what I remember, because food, hotel and transport was very low priced. Leather and gold was worth looking at there, but I wasn't tempted to buy anything but a pair of woolen socks, a silver ring, and two inlaid backgammon sets. The socks I still wear. The ring has a huge emerald on it, which must be a natural stone as it has so many imperfections. And the backgammon sets are so pretty that I use them for display.

Istanbul has so many wonderful sights to see. For me, the best ones were Hagia Sophia and Top Kapi. Hagia Sophia was the reason I visited Istanbul in the first place. I was fascinated by its history. A place of worship during Byzantine times, a place of massacre when Byzantium fell, and then again a place of worship during Ottoman times.

Pictures of Aghia Sophia

Top Kapi, one of the most most beautiful, intricate and lavishly decorated places I have seen. The jewels of Top Kapi simply stunning, but no photographs allowed. And believe me, I tried!

Pictures of Top Kapi

Another beautiful Byzantine church is Chora church, and I have to thank the Turkish guide for taking me there. The most beautiful mosaics I have ever seen. Saved from Venetians, Ottomans, earthquakes, and the ravages of time.

Pictures of Chora Church

If you like shopping, a visit to the Grand Bazaar is recommended. From spices to jewels, and leather jackets to woolen hats. And of course, Turkish delights.

Pictures of Grand Bazaar

It's worth making a visit to the mosques of Istanbul too. I was impressed by the Blue Mosque, with the beautiful stained windows and painted dome.

Pictures of the Blue Mosque

The Yeni Cami is another beautiful mosque worthy of your time. Right on the edge of Bosphorus, you'll see it many times when you take the Bosphorus cruise.

Pictures of the Yeni Cami

Pictures from the Bosphorus cruise

The rest of the city around the historic center I found to be rather plain, and in places run down.

Houses of Istanbul

To get a bird's eye view of Istanbul, you may as well seek out that coffeehouse right up on the hill, on the Asian side of the city.

Panoramic view of Istanbul

Pictures of a Turkish Coffeehouse

I love gilding, and Istanbul is full of gilded things of Islamic art to look at.

Pictures of Islamic Art

As far as gastronomy is concerned, there were a lot of very good, very well-priced restaurants to eat at. The one below was actually making ravioli to order.

Picture of a restaurant in Istanbul

And that's the end of today's post. And the end of the thread on Istanbul too. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one. Have a good day, and speak to you soon!

References
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Istanbul

Sort:  

Great article. I can see you really took some effort with this. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you @nikflossus. Yes, it took me some time. I aim to please.

I love Istanbul, it’s one of my favourite cities!

Your pictures are stunning. Thank you for sharing them. Upvoted!

Thank you @oleg326756! I would go there again any time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63776.94
ETH 2629.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84