🇮🇩 Attending a cooking lesson at Bali, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

In this post, I am going to talk about a cooking lesson I took in Bali, back in 2009. It was a hands-on lesson, not just theory, so we all followed the teacher's instructions, and sampled what we had cooked in the end.

The lesson took place in beautiful traditional Balinese country house, with a huge garden loooking out towards some high mountains. The house itself was located in a sleepy Balinese village full of flowers and colour. I was lucky when I visited because it was a hot, sunny day, and I took loads of pictures.

The village

We arrived at the house, went through the gate, and walked through the garden towards the pavilion, which would host the cooking lesson. The garden was lush, and there was a lovely pond too, with ducks doing what ducks normally do.

The pond at the garden

The classroom

Our teacher was a local Balinese lady who showed us, and talked to us about the ingredients we would use, and the dishes that we were going to prepare. I remember the chicken satays we cooked, and the nasi goreng, but we also cooked a vegetarian dish with green leaves that I don't remember the name of.

The teacher

The pupils

Then we had a go ourselves making those dishes. Loved the satays, but I have to admit my vote goes to the nasi goreng any time. I love stir fired rice, and I would like to try as many different versions as possible. I have tried the Indonesian version in Indonesia, and the Chinese version in many places but China.

After the lesson, we ate what we had cooked, and we headed back towards our coach. I couldn't help snapping at the family shrines too. Most Balinese houses have shrines like that, where they give offerings to the gods and pray.

The family shrines

So, a question that comes to mind now is this: Which are the most traditional/popular Balinese dishes?

Well, I can't say I am an expert on this subject. I haven't tried all of them, but I do remember three of them from my two visits to Bali, and these are:

  • Nasi Goreng (stir-fried rice with a combination of meats and vegetables)

Nasi Goreng

  • Sate (Satay) Varieties (marinated, skewered and grilled meats, served with spicy sauce)

Satays

  • Jimbaran Seafood (grilled fish with an assortment of sauces)(1)

Jimbaran Seafood

I also found this short video on Youtube that shows a cooking lesson in Bali:


Cooking lesson video

It goes without saying, I totally recommend it as a very fun activity when in Bali.

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one.

Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

Image references:
1.Nasi goreng: http://www.shrinkingsingle.com
2.Satays: http://static.asiawebdirect.com
3.Jimbaran Seafood: http://static.asiawebdirect.com

Text references:
1.Text from http://www.bali-indonesia.com/dining/best-food.htm

Sort:  

Very interesting and creativity post_))
I enjoy it_)) 👍
Thank You for sharing this on Steemit!

you are welcome amigo!

Truly nice post and amazing presentation.
Thumbs up

thank you @mindtrap! 😉


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE by @koskl Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

thank you very much. my account name in Bitshares is: koskl1.
my account is in the bitshares.openledger
i hope this helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87