The Lazi Church and I

in #travel7 years ago

The Lazi church is said to be the oldest church in Siquijor island that was opened back in 1884. This Catholic church is made up of hardwood and stone built by Filipino craftsmen. By the way, Lazi is my grandfather's hometown. My mom have not been here ever since. I am happy I got this opportunity to visit it.

Lazi_church_and_I.jpeg

This is also known as the San Isidro Labrador parish and opposite to the church is said to be the oldest convent in Asia.

restored_lazi_convent.jpeg

Above is the newly restored Lazi convent opposite to the church across the road.

Siquijor_church.jpeg

lazi_church.jpeg

inside_lazi_church.jpeg

Above is the inside view of the church from the main door towards the altar.

According to our tourist guide, the church will still undergo a rehabilitation anytime soon to preserve it further.

Sort:  

I love old photos of churches, nice one! I voted up.

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you

Nice to know that The oldest convent in asia is in my home country. I had a short visit to Siquijor a long time ago @koshin because I have a friend who lives in Dumaguete.

Anyway,I saw your post tru yehey. Chekout my travel blogs also you might find it interesting.

UpFollowed you
@joville

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61063.93
ETH 2667.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61