Palm Springs!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey, guys! What a night it’s been. I’m about to get in to my Palm Springs leg of our recent trip, and shortly, you’ll hear about my mythic rare Magic: The Gathering card pull that had me so excited. I built a deck around it […red and black]. It’s taken on many changes over the last three days, but tonight, in it’s final incarnation, it went head to head against @tarotbyfergus and @vermillionfox. It won’t about 8 out 11 games, so I’m on a “new deck high”. 


In my last post, “Los Angeles”, I talked about my travels with @vermillionfox and @guthrie throughout the west coast. I cut things off right as we were leaving Romancing The Bean in Burbank, about to get on the highway for Palm Springs. Our good friends Berrit and @danielkiessler were anticipating us just a few hours away. This was surely to be the most relaxing part of the 10 day trip, and I couldn’t wait! 


We hit traffic, leaving LA just slightly too late after sticking around to watch the Falcon Heavy test flight […no regrets]. I decided that rather than just sit in gridlocked traffic, we’d get off the interstate and take a detour to Rad Coffee in Upland, this punk rock coffee shop I stumbled across last year during one of my trips. @guthrie enjoyed a hot chocolate, I bought a few stickers and a mug to donate to @caffetto. We got back on the road and arrived just after sundown in Palm Springs. 


I missed Berrit and @danielkiessler so much! I met Berrit in 2016 when she participated in my annual NOIR I LA Old Hollywood boudoir event. @vermillionfox and I loved her so much, we stayed in touch. Her husband @danielkiessler is an incredible photorealistic artist and we bonded over social media until they hosted me at their beautiful home twice last year. I fell in love with their three greyhounds and the desert, even in the middle of August at Palm Springs most unbearable. 


Our time was spent relaxing; something I haven’t managed to do in over a decade. The pace of my life, especially over the last six years, has been an exercise in burnout inducing hustle just to stay afloat. Be it money, opportunities or conditioning, I almost never turn down work. This trip, especially the time in Palm Springs, was the only time in recent memory I recall talking myself in to just…..not. Enjoying the time, the desert, the home and the company. We ate at my favorites restaurants in Palm Springs. It was blissful. 


Myself, @vermillionfox and @guthrie even found time to track down the only comic book and card store in the immediately Palm Springs area. Even Berrit and @danielkiessler were surprised when I told them it existed. I bought a few packs of Magic: The Gathering “Rivals of Ixalan” boosters and later drew a foil Angrath, the Flame-Chained! Couldn’t wait to steal and sacrifice @tarotbyfergus’ dumb-ass creatures. 


Even with an unexpected third day in Palm Springs, it seemed like we were leaving as fast as we arrived. Our last day, me, Berrit, @danielkiessler, their three greyhounds, @vermillionfox and @guthrie walked in to the desert for family photos of our friends at the base of the mountains. We celebrated our time together with one last lunch […the best Mexican food of my life], said our goodbyes and began our long drive to Las Vegas, our final destination for the journey. More on that tomorrow. 


Thanks for reading! I post regularly. For more photography, art, travel and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

I miss my son at that age gawd, where has the time gone lol

wow amazing images

This post has received a 0.82% upvote from thanks to: @alitarar.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

very nice post friends, please visit my friend's blog

My mom grew up in Chino Hills, so I was able to connect with your story of Upland / Palm Springs, etc.

"Our time was spent relaxing; something I haven’t managed to do in over a decade. The pace of my life, especially over the last six years, has been an exercise in burnout inducing hustle just to stay afloat. Be it money, opportunities or conditioning, I almost never turn down work." I have a high level of confidence that crypto and in this case Steem is going to solve most if not all of that problem, allow you to break away from the 'conditioning.'

Keep up the good fight !

The last 6 years, know that feeling well, hehe. Glad to hear you had some relaxing days out here in CA :)

I'm liking the NASA tank top!

This is a great and unique. I'm a photographer and I know what it takes to capture good scenes. Keep it up dear 👍

These three days you spent visiting your friends sound delightful. I wish to somewhat experience that. I love travelling but most of the time I don't have the means to. You sound very well travelled in your country. I love the fact that you enjoy the journey of the open road as much as you enjoy the destination. I will travel with you through your writing.

Great post and good job, keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56