One day trip at Konitsa village-Epirous, Greece

in #travel6 years ago

Greetings fellow Steemians.I hope you are enjoying your last day's of Summer.

I don't usually take photo's and write blogs but this time I had to.I visited a very beautifull place which i think deserves your attention.My destination this time was a village located in Epirous, Greece called Konitsa.The town was built amphitheatrically-shaped on a mountain slope of the Pindos mountain range from where it overlooks the valley where the river Aoos meets the river Voidomatis.
It's population is around 5000 people.
(source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Konitsa)

IMG_20180815_182648.jpg

I arrived there late last night,met up with my friends and family(I was raised in Konitsa before i moved to the city)and had a great night out with them.
The next morning I was enjoying my coffee with this view.

IMG_20180815_120133.jpg

In Greece,most people are Orthodox Christians so every 15th of August we celebrate the Dormition of Virgin Mary.Most of us Greeks barbecue and dance to local music.That's how it went down this year also.

IMG_20180815_143055.jpg
My uncle and my dad were working the grills and everything was delicious.

My dog Biggie Smalls(yeah,that's this little rats name)had also a great time because 10 people were constatly giving him meat lol.

IMG_20180815_125652.jpg

Lucky we,RIGHT after we finished eating and feasting it started raining.
IMG_20180815_154440.jpg

The rain stopped a couple of hours later,so i decided to go and relax by the river.All you could hear was the sound of water smashing up on rocks and trees.My day couldn't get any better than that.

IMG_20180815_182701.jpg

Even if it was for less than 24 hours,it was enough to make me feel recharged and happy.

IMG_20180815_183134.jpg

Thank you for spending your time on my post guys and if you are looking for an awesome place to visit,I recommend you Konitsa.You will have a great time for sure!

Photo's taken with Huwei P8 Lite by @knowhow92 .
Untill next time.
Have fun.

Sort:  

Beautiful river, beautiful photos :)

I'll take you there again sometime soon!!

Seems like a good time bro!
I'm digging your view where you live, much better than mine! And great name for your dog haha!

Yo thanks bro,I'm lucky to live in this side of Greece,there are tons of places where you can visit and enjoys yourself.Nature at it's finest.

καλήμερα υπέροχο μέρος είχα πάει στο μοναστήρι στην Παναγιά την Μολιβ. ...
Ο Βοιδοματης ειναι πολύ όμορφο ποταμι... Έχει καπου και μια πλαζ για μπανιο μες υο ποτάμι καπου εκεί. ε;;

Ναι,αν και ο περισσότερος κόσμος κάνει μπάνιο στον Αώο ποταμό λόγο του ότι τα νερά στον Βοιδομάτη είναι παγωμένα ακόμα και με 35 βαθμούς έξω.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79