Living in a Chevy Blazer? How I would go about it.

in #travel7 years ago
  • To begin, I can't thank my friend enough for exposing me to this wonderful website, especially in the early stage it's in.

I will be the first to admit, sleeping in your vehicle can SUCK. Here's an experience of mine...

THATS ME
webcam-toy-photo5 (1).jpg

I used to have a Honda Accord that I would sleep in. I had toiletries, extra clothing, and a 40 degree test sleeping bag in my car at all times.

In my senior year of high school, it was common for me to get off work, drive strait to my friends house, and stay there all night to hang out. When it got late, I would set out for my car because my friends Grandma didn't like it when people slept over.

In doing this, I learned that sleeping in you're CAR can suck. It's okay in a pinch, but your back and neck can get really stiff from sleeping so awkwardly. In addition to this, I was always paranoid I would accidentally flood the engine with my feet when I was asleep.

But then me and my Father went on an overnight fishing trip up north. We slept in his Chevy Blazer.

It wasn't luxury living, but we laughed about how passably comfortable it was. We used sleeping bags on top of carpet squares and slept like babies. With my standard of living, I knew from that moment on, this was a viable option for me.

Okay, so I've decided this is right for me, here's my plan

I made a list of factors I'll need to address before I hit the open road.

  • Food/water - Anybody can live off of Funyuns and Cheetos. But I'll need a real meal from time to time. Get a small cooler for perishables. In addition to storing food, I'll use a cooler to store my hard drives when extreme heat poses a threat to them.

To cook, I can use a two burner propane stove. I'd keep at least one spare cylinder in my vehicle at all times. Having a six pack can take up precious space.

In regards to water, I should ideally have a gallon or two reserved for drinking and cooking, a few gallons reserved for bathing. A five gallon hard body water cooler should be fine.

I'll want a pot, frying pan, utensils, a plate, and a cup. Dish soap and cooking oil are awesome too. simple things like ziplock bags, garbage bags, and air fresheners are huge too.

  • Sleeping - A self inflatable bed role and a 40 degree sleeping bag will suffice most of the time. But pack extra warmth.

Clothing - Just pack accordingly.

2 cargo pants
1 pair of cargo shorts
1 wool flannel
2 cotton shirts
2 wool socks
2 cotton socks
4 pair underwear
1 heavy duty down leggings
1 heavy duty coat
1 sweatshirt
extra pair of shoes/boots
Rain gear

  • Creating shelving/storage - I think I'll create some type of shelving using particle board in some areas. Make sure to store jumper cables and a car jack/ spare wheel too.

I've seen people put up a mesh on the ceiling of the car for extra storage or even a small cork bulletin board for records keeping. There's more than one way to skin a cat.

  • Toiletries/basic medical kit - In a small zip up bag, put everything you need to get dapper and basic remedies for injury and sickness. A headlight and batteries are very useful too in an emergency.

Make sure to get a usb charger that plugs into your cigarette lighter for your technology as well.

I REALLY HOPE YOU LIKE MY ARTICLE. THIS IS MY FIRST FULL ON POST. I'LL BE HEADING UP TO THE CANADIAN BOARDER THIS SUMMER TO FISH, HIKE, AND MEET NEW PEOPLE AND SEE NEW THINGS. I'M VERY EXCITED. FOLLOW AND BE THE FIRST WAVE OF PEOPLE TO FOLLOW ME ON MY JOURNEY. THANKS FOR READING.
webcam-toy-photo6 (1).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67