My Dad's First Trip Abroad

in #travel7 years ago

You can take my dad out of America, but you can't take the American out of him. Or so I thought:) I never thought that my dad would travel abroad, but he proved me wrong when he visited me in Korea last week. I was so proud of him for making the leap out of his comfort zone and seeing the world from a different perspective.
IMG_5636.JPG

()

After getting spending some time in bustling Seoul, we ventured north of the city to the DMZ (Demilitarized Zone), home to the quiet, yet tense border between North and South Korea. The first stop on our tour was Imjingak Park in Paju, South Korea. There we saw the famous tied ribbons filled with prayers and hope for peace between the two countries. Our last stop was Dora Observatory where we caught a foggy, eerie glimpse of isolated North Korea.
IMG_5659.JPG!IMG_5661.JPG

We headed to Busan on the southeast coast for the final weekend of the trip. Haedong Yongungsa Temple and Gamcheon Village were our main stops in the city. The temple is situated right along the coast just meters from the crashing ocean waves. Though the main part was reconstructed in 1970, the temple was built in 1376 and has stood the test of time.

)IMG_5728.JPGIMG_5809.jpg

Gamcheon Village, a former war refugee neighborhood, was the last highlight of the trip. The area is whimsical with lots of colorful houses, artwork, and cafes.

And, of course, we met some furry friends along the way :)

IMG_5733.JPG

“We travel, some of us forever, to seek other places, other lives, other souls.” – Anais Nin

I hope my dad carries his travels close with him. As for me, home is steadily on the horizon.

Pennsylvania to Asia ~ October 2017

Sort:  

Awesome photos Kristi!
Great post, I really love it!
Resteemed! :)

That's much appreciated! Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47