Travel Blog #3 Vienna Schonbrunn zoo - the oldest zoo in the world! Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

I wouldn't usually visit a zoo, as I am against holding wild animals in captivity , however I took a chance with this amazing place right next to Schonbrunn Palace and I wasn't disappointed. 

  • The whole thing is a really big forest in the heart of Vienna . It was built in 1752, making it the oldest of it's kind. 
  • According to wiki , Before WW 1 , it housed  712 species and 3,500 specimens and sadly after the war ended they were left with around 900 specimens.  
  • After WW 2 , and the bombing raids , a lot of buildings were destroyed and specimens killed. They were left with 400 specimens. 

Entry costs 18.5 euros for adults , 9 euros for kids (6-19y) and children below 6 get in free! 

They are one of the few zoos in the world that house the Giant Panda, but unfortunately I didn't get to see them as it wasn't open to the public when I visited. 

Here are some shots I took , there will be a part 2 and 3 with some pretty awesome pics and video 

Curating : 

The wild goats chilling on top of their house


The seals doing their thing just as in any normal relationship -  fighting, kissing and then sleeping... pics are not PG rated though

I have done no post editing on these photos, they're raw straight from the camera. 


 Please appreciate my work with an upvote, follow me if you think I don't waste your time and most importantly ReSteem this if you think others would enjoy it. I need to get a little exposure in order to grow and produce better content. 

I love you all , stay safe! 

Motan 

Sort:  

I am your follower, and i saw your posts. you are doing good:) @ronaldmcatee

Thank you very much :)

Oh wow! Beautiful :D

Great photos <3 that last one of the penguin needs to be framed and hanging somewhere.

Thank you dear! I have some pretty epic ones to come in next blog.
I hope you like pelicans ;)

I can't wait :)

Great photos, love the seals

Thank you ! :D

Ok that's actually a very interesting post with lots of stuff I did not know. Also really well done pics. Krista is right about that last one needing to be framed.

Thank you very much :D

Beautiful animals, you made great photos. Thank you sharing this with us. Waiting till next blog.

Thanks a lot , friend

Awesome photos man!

Thanks man :D

Upvoted!

...but I am from Austria and it is called Schönbrunn... or Schoenbrunn if the ö doesn't work on some devices :-)

Love the sequence story of the seals!

ahh thank you ! They were amazing to look at and photograph

Very nice pictures. Best Greetings from Austria!
Follow you now!

Hey, thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39