You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: COCKFIGHT (with Video) - People of East Timor (5)

in #travel7 years ago

Interesting article. This isn't a tough one for me - cockfighting is wrong. Having said that, I recognise there are cultural and socioeconomic conditions that encourage and maintain the practice. Imagine the role that a platform like Steemit could play in generating economic alternatives to betting on animal fights! And generating discussion on animal rights where people may not feel comfortable opposing current cultural practice - it creates a new mechanism for airing views. Of course, people can't make others read and write on an internet platform, and there would be some who would want to create a cockfight betting platform on Steemit, so I'm not saying it's a panacea.

Sort:  

Interesting idea @kiligirl. I tend to think it is wrong as well, but if you travel to that country and think about how bored people must be, I can really understand it.
Anyways, for steemit they would need internet first, it is not that common yet...

I think any entertainment that hurts animals is wrong, no matter what. I am sure they could find other entertainment if they tried. I know this is a tradition - but should be stopped like we stopped using animals in circuses, slavery, etc. Think about it.

yes, probably true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61963.30
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67