Ceci n'est pas un tournevis, with apologies to Magritte

in #travel7 years ago

I hope those who are fond of Magritte's Pipe

Magritte's pipe
Image source

will get a kick out of this.

A few months ago I was on my way home to Johannesburg from Gaborone, the capital of Botswana, one of our neighbouring countries. For those who haven't been there in a while, the airport has been completely rebuilt by the Chinese and is as international as they come.

It hadn't been a long trip so I thought I'd sky check my small suitcase instead of checking it in. Mistake! As I went through security, the woman checking the x-ray'd luggage stopped me and demanded I take the screwdriver out of my bag. Mystified, as I wasn't carrying a screwdriver but knew better than to argue, I opened the bag to find the offending item.

It turned out to be this:

Hairbrush.

Indeed, ceci n'est pas un tournevis.

Sort:  

ahahahahahaha you have a great sense of humor! Totally didn't expect the ending of your story! But it's quite funny indeed!! French phrase of the day "ceci n'est pas un tournevis." :D

Thanks, @thisjourney! I really get a kick out of people getting my goofy humour 😎😎.

That is hilarious! I love the picture "this is not a screwdriver" lol. Very nice tie-in to what happened at the airport. Not sure what training they have at TSA but I guess if you turn it upside down I could see a screwdriver lol still funny nonetheless!

Thanks for seeing the humorous side 😎

Nice post! I love the pipe and could lice without the brush.

Gee, I cleaned it and everything.

Looks like you found some interesting stuff on your travels.
Great Photographs!

Etes vous française ?

Britannique d'origine, canadienne/québécoise pendant mes années formatrices, africaine maintenant

Greetings from Venezuela, visit me to see if you like any of my post.

I once flew in and out from Johannesburg to Durban on day trip, on my return they found a small pocket knife in my laptop bag, which was confiscated. They however never discovered it on my down to Durban and it was there all the time. (I used it to peel oranges when I eat them at work)

Eish! Sorry for your loss. Sounds like every trip I've made to Australia. Talk about asset stripping....😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38