..alone in Viet Nam #11

in #travel7 years ago

Day 15
Ninh Binh – Cat Ba
172 km + 1h ferry ride + 24 km
..and it happens again.. I start my day riding with a really fun guy from Israel, but he is driving like crazy and I hardly manage to keep up, and then after an hour drive, right on the highway, she crashes into this old lady on a scooter just in front of me.. her slippers are flying, my new friend as well up in the air landing in the grass patch on the side of the road.. no obvious injuries, but the front wheel is in tatters and breaks not working.. he insists on me continuing the way and so I go on travelling alone again, and I think that’s the right way for me as my companions just keep getting into accidents.. I am rushing through some industrial landscapes to catch my ferry to Cat Ba Island, which is the biggest island in Ha Long Bay.. and the prize is worth every kilometer.. I choose to go by a ferry from Tuan Chau as it goes through the little islands, if you approach the island from the other side which is faster but you don’t see any of this magic from the ferry..
..after arriving on the other side of the island, I take one of the two roads on the island and ride to the town.. lovely island scenery, on my way I also notice some caves that I will visit in the next few days..
..and one thing I learned in Cat Ba, you can bond with people various ways, for example, while discussing the ugliness of a cake!

IMG_20170510_165129_202.jpg

IMG_20170511_205526_993.jpg

IMG_20170511_165721_599.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful @kerija!

Thanks! :)

Very beautiful place. Up voted cheers

Thanks! :)
And the place is amazing indeed! :)

you actually drove from Israel? I live in Vietnam and I love Saigon. Do you mean the guy is from Israel? I love the photos.

Saigon is actually one of my least favourite places in Vietnam.. too dirty, noisy and chaotic.. I prfer getting out of the city.. :)

This is exactly why I rode solo the whole time in Vietnam.

I'm writing about my scooter trip through Vietnam, if you're interested.

That is the way to do SE Asia.. :)
I will check it out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74