When Something Can Go Wrong on the Road, It Might.

in #travel6 years ago

I'm writing from a hotel computer somewhere between Denver and Grand Junction, Colorado.

WHY?

Because early this morning a cup of coffee (not mine, I drink tea) was accidently deposited on my MacBook Air.

I got the kiss of death on the computer screen: a white folder with a black question mark in it.

What does that mean? Au revoir, MacBook Air.

It turned on for a while after it was dried out with a hair dryer.

Now?

Nada.

To say I am frustrated because most of the last 15 years of my life personally and professionally was on that computer, is an understatement..

I hadn't backed it up to the external hard drive for over a year.

I wasn't using it that much, except to cross reference information with my desktop and occasionally write on the road.

SO my BAD for not backing it up with a vengeance every week.

There are no Apple stores for many, many miles from where I am staying.

An authorized store trained to take a look at my computer to see if I can retrieve anything from it is also at least a hundred miles away from where I'm staying.

This trip was purposefully one off the beaten trail.

YES! Shit DOES happen.

First, my Air was not synced with the iCloud like my Desktop, iPhone and iPad.

How I overlooked that, well, OPERATOR ERROR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Needless to say I'm angry but I can't be too angry because it was truly an accident.

It's a good lesson to stay present and the moment you go on autopilot things like this happen.

We start going through our day, often mindlessly executing tasks, we space out and then BAM.

Plus, when you write for a living, or are on the road for business, it's essential to keep files backed up and do your best to make allowances for hiccups.

Or big, ugly burps.

Let my misfortune be your forewarning.

Back it up.

Keep the liquids a mile away from your computers.

MOST importantly, even on holidays and vacations, don't check out.

I love this saying from the 1936 Olympic rowing team: "Keep your mind in the boat."

The biggest lesson?

When both of your hands are full, don't try to do anything else.

Unless you sprout a third arm and hand.

I'll let you know next week if my computer is now a really pretty, shiny paperweight.

As always, thanks for reading.

See you again next week! (Hopefully!)

Sort:  

@kazwrites, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28