My Weekend Getaway and Checking Out A Friend’s RV

in #travel6 years ago

I’ve been offline for a few days, out on an adventure with my little ones. Here’s a quick recap and some pics from our trip!

The plan: to get out of the house for a few days to give my man time to study for finals. So I packed up the kids, and off we went.


The Cabin


First we spent a night at a cabin at a horse ranch nearby. The people who own the guest ranch more-or-less adopted me a few years back. I paid for the cabin rental, but they gave me a discounted rate and it’s always good to see them. Got a little bit of horse-time in too.

cabin

There’s a bedroom tucked away to the left of this shot, and a futon here in the living room, plus a nice little seat next to the wood stove. I had a fire going the whole time. So cozy!

Here’s the kitchen.

kitchen

And the view from the kitchen.

view

My house is actually on the other side of the lake there. You can’t see it for the trees, but it’s there.

The best part of staying at this cabin? Taz and Gracie were in the pasture right outside my door.

taz and Gracie

Oh, and no internet. Which means I got some much-needed sleep!


Next, we went to a friend’s house.


After a night in the cabin, we packed up and transferred to a friend’s house in town. Much fun was had, with laughter all around.

The next day, I got a tour of her RV. At 24 feet, it’s a bit big to call a campervan, but it was nice to explore and satisfy a little bit of my campervan craving.

rv

front

Nice little kitchen…

kitchen

And look at that shower. This thing is posh!

bathroom

Still, it’s too long for my taste. At least right now. I don’t know if I want to drive that much vehicle around yet, though my friend says she loves how it drives.

rv


Home sweet home.


After meals shared, errands run, a fun walk with my friend’s dog and my kids, it was time to head back up to the country and sleep in our own beds.

Here’s the first fire in my wood stove after getting home.

fire

And it’s always good to come home to my kitty. Toby-cat is part dog, as he doesn’t give me the cold shoulder. Instead he says, “Yay! You’re home, you can pet me now.”

toby

toby2


To tell the truth, I’m still tired and needing to spend more time offline, so if I’m not as active right now as I’ve been, I hope you’ll forgive me. I’m needing more rest and family time.

I hope you’re well! Thanks for reading.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

the alliance

steemusa

The Alliance and SteemUSA Banners by @bearone

Sort:  

I want a campervan too!!!

Would love to explore BC to Alaska in motorhome, would be an awesome journey

Must wait til Steem is $100 I guess 😂

Go Steem! We'll meet up somewhere. ;)

I loved the view from the cabin and that wood stove too. I have never seen or been on snow in real life or experienced winter , so i wonder how cold it would be to run the wood stove through out. That's a whole lot of warming.
This vacation (that is what i will call it) was definitely a thrill for you and the kids.

Do find time to rest and spend with family. The internet will be here when you return, never fear. Stay safe. Peace

Thank you. :) The wood stove is such nice heat. And it was a lovely little vacation. I still haven't unpacked all the way. lol!

Your body has not yet returned from the trip, that's why. Lol

Don't be scared to take a break from the internet. Or from here ;)
Love the shot of the camper sink. It's like, just a bunch of knives and the sink, hehe. Must have been chilly riding in the snow.

I know, they have a full set of knives. lol! I camp with maybe two. Thanks for the encouragement. ;)

Rest and family time sounds like a great idea @katrina-aerial. Glad you enjoyed your little trip. It certainly looked fun. Hope your hubbie got all his revision done. 😊

Thank you! Yes, more rest. More time together. Such important things. :)

That cabin looked so cozy!! Also the hat... Amazing ... Glad you had fun your furry friends are absolutely adorbs!!!

I know, the horses are awesome. I love watching them, and love having the wood stove to come inside to after being in the cold! :)

That van looks like it has more square footage than my apartment. And considering where I live, probably costs less too. LOL

Ummm... this sounds like the perfect weekend! You had a break from internet connectivity, spent time with horses and a dog-cat and got to tour a sick van!

Good for you! <3 Gotta find ways to make these long winter days pass- looks like you nailed, and im sure your guy appreciated the study time

It was a great weekend. Thanks so much for sharing the excitement. :) And, yes, he has definitely appreciated the study time. He's passed two tests so far, just one more to go on Friday!

That's awesome! I'm sure he'll do great

Fun! Peace friend. :)

((( (( ( Peace ) )) )))

This looks like such a lovely, chill weekend. There’s nothing quite like getting out of the house for a few nights to refresh the brain and reconnect!

Exactly! I've become a hermit. I want to get out of the house more. My kids do too. Of course, I want to go on epic adventures, but it's good to do fun things close to home, as well. Thanks for coming by and saying hello! :)

What a nice, quaint little getaway. Makes me feel refreshed just looking at the cabin and other pictures.

Thank you @katrina-ariel . And totally understand about being Offline for a little bit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52