Iceland - the wifi-problem

in #travel6 years ago

All's well. I am in Reykjavik and so is my family. Only problem is WiFi. My wife and daughter logged on to the WiFi in the apartment we rented but neither my computer or brand new phone can do it. I told myself that I don't mind, but I do want to able to write a few posts for Steemit.

Now I am at the café of the National Museum, and can finally post.

So until now we have just been around Reykjavik. We have visited some friends who, with the overwhelming hospitality of the North Atlantic people have organised that we can lend a jeep and have invited us on a fishing trip up north.

The food is quite expensive, even to a Dane. Not much grows up here and a lot of it has to be imported. We see many Danish products and vegetables. Fine lamb meat and fish is on the other hand cheaper than in Denmark, so we have gone quite carnivorous.

The language is easier to understand than I thought, much easier than Faroese which I used to be able to understand a little of when I lived there at the age of twenty. It is like a weird dialect of Danish or Norwegian with many old-fashioned words. But many people up here talk good Danish as they learn it in school and often have been to Denmark to study so I haven't really had to speak much English until now. Like most Nordic people the Icelanders are good at English.

I will try to find some hipster cafés, so I can post a bit about my vacation. I will probably have a hard time aswering comments.

So until next hotspot...
fcz5Fdd
NhLJTGE
QzHRdmN
7REirIi

Sort:  

The Icelandic spirits are trying to protect your vacation from the Internet ;-)
Experience it to the fullest, take lots of photos, and post when you get back to DK.

I don't know where this spot is in Iceland, but I'd sure love to see it someday!

source pxhere.com

Eventually I gave in to the spirits and just did non-online things - not a bad thing actually. I'll write about it when I have time the coming days. It was great.

Expensive or not ........... I hope you guys enjoy your time there. Although I have never been there but I feel like that summers is the perfect time to be at Iceland. Kind of like a cool spot on the planet right now :-)

I come from a pretty expensive country myself, and I have been to Greenland where it was even more extreme prices. Fish, whale, seal and muskox was dead cheap and a bag of frozen potatoes was worth its weight in gold. But it was great - I have taken pretty hard to the heat this year so it was a relief to be up there.

Useful sentences:

Þessi dama mun borga fyrir allt saman.
Svifnökkvinn minn er fullur af álum.

Enjoy your stay!

I only got to use the first one...

I had a couple friends try to bike Iceland a few years back. Didn't quite work out for them but it was still a nice trip.

We saw quite a few tourists on bikes on the rural roads. A lot of wind and rain have to be endured.

Yeah, it got bad enough that they gave up halfway and had to rent a small u-haul for their bikes and things ha ha. It rained and blew for the entire trip for them.

Poor them. It is an unforgiving landscape up there.

Nothing wrong with a little 'Atkins diet' for a week or so. I wouldn't do it for much longer though, it somehow doesn't feel right to me regardless of what 'Doc Atkins' may say.

It was not as bad as Greenland where you really have to pay for plant-food and can buy meat and fish for almost nothing. We did eat Icelandish flatbread, rice and potatoes, but I prefer to eat what the surounding land can provide and that is not much on Iceland. But apart from the local food principle, a little bit of everything is the general rule I follow.

Greenland... have you been there too? It doesn't sound tourist friendly. I do want to visit Iceland though, at some point.

Yes, I have been there twice, but mainly because I had some opportunity to be in a house instead of a hotel. It was an fantastic experience. I was in Uummannaq and in Qasigiannguit. Both times in the summer.

Nothing to worry about net @katharsisdrill, the first think you need to do is enjoy your vacation. every day I need to find hotspot to post on steemit...hehehe

Yes, eventually I just forgot about the internet :)

this was on my bucket list also, but with my list getting longer and longer, I have to live until 125 ...... just wondering if I can understand a little of their language: I used to be fluent in Swedish and can make sense of old Norse texts .....

I suppose you can make sense of Icelandic too then. Sometimes I did understand and sometimes a word was a complete showstopper, but I didn't get much training as they speak very good English and some of them very good Danish.

happy to enjoy your holiday my friend, I am glad to see you post photos of your vacation. I just know you are also fishing hobby ,, hope you got a fish banayk ,, :))

It was great! I did not get a fish but my daughter did. Meant a lot to her :)

a very interesting holiday, I also hobby fishing, but now I almost never do it again, my time is very drained for my children .. enjoy your holiday @katrarsisdrill

My children are older now so I have more time now. But it was my daughter who caught a fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83