🏕️ My first Backpacking Trip: Exploring Santa Rosa Island 🏕️

in #travel6 years ago


(click on image above to see @dtube videos)

I thought I would share my first backpacking trip, as it was quite the adventure! A group of friend and I decided to explore Santa Rosa Island, which is off the coast of California.

I love adventures and I love camping... well to be completely honest, I love CAR camping. Backpacking was a little harder than my usual "glamping." HAHA. For starters, when you backpack you must carry everything you bring, including items such as tent, crash pads, food, water, clothes, and anything else you feel in necessary. Which means, you don't really have room to bring an air mattress, nail polish, books etc.

karen sue studios camping.jpg

Also, I would recommend having the proper gear when backpacking. As a noob, I totally didn't come with the correct backpack or tent. This makes it pretty challenging to hike. Luckily, the hike to our campsite was less than 3 miles!

Santa Rosa, is a beautiful island, and we went on some epic hikes everyday. I thought I would share some photos from our adventure.

back packing.jpg

Here my friends are with the proper backpacking gear! LOL

karen sue studios backpacking.jpg

We even went on a 10 mile hiking trip. I nearly died, but look at the view! It ended up being totally worth it.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the @dtube video I made! Enjoy!


karensuestudios travel.jpg
love,
Karen


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Have you considered getting a sled dog for your hikes?

Excellent photography and wonderful place my dear friend.You right said, when we backpack we must carry everything we bring, including items such as tent, crash pads, food, water, clothes, and anything else we feel in necessary.
2.jpg

I love camping too! You need to get a backpack which has a proper belt for your hips so it holds most of the weight and you don't even feel it!

Exactly... that backpack is super important!

Been a little m.i.a lately but I'm back! Just caught up on your life abroad and it looks like you're still having a lot of fun! Are you still traveling? Maybe I can come join you guys for some future adventures!

aww yes! Would love to have you!

This is so neat! I bet you had lots of fun! Thanks for sharing this :D

Aww so fun! I’m glad you had an awesome first experience. Good gear really is important! I shivered all night my first backpacking trip because I didn’t pack nearly enough warm layers. When it’s hot and sunny during the the day, it’s easy to overlook some of those things!

Now I’m like your friends that are decked out in good gear! Haha

it's a long walk and with that heavy backpack even more time, the sea looks beautiful, karen, you really like to venture

IT looks like a good trip :) and you must had a lots of fun :)

Such a beautiful place...totally worth all the pain:)

What a tour! It will be a memorable forever.

I feel oceans have a connection with human souls. Their blue color water gives a peace to hearts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45