When in Greece

in #travel7 years ago

The sea was sapphire coloured, and the sky
Burned like a heated opal through the air;
We hoisted sail; the wind was blowing fair
For the blue lands that to the eastward lie.
From the steep prow I marked with quickening eye
Zakynthos, every olive grove and creek,
Ithaca's cliff, Lycaon's snowy peak,
And all the flower-strewn hills of Arcady.
The flapping of the sail against the mast,
The ripple of the water on the side,
The ripple of girls' laughter at the stern,
The only sounds: -when 'gan the West to burn,
And a red sun upon the seas to ride,
I stood upon the soil of Greece at last!

~ Oscar Wilde

DSC06060.JPG

This summer the time will not allow me to go any closer to the sea. The reason behind it is my decision to work and save up for my last year of study. All I have left related to salty seas is looking back to my past summer adventures and adore Steemit travelers posts from abroad.

You guessed right! This one is about Greece. It was one of my favorite places I have visited so far.

Before you begin reading any further I suggest you play this music video in the background and I promise you you will feel the good Greek vibes. It is very famous Syrtaki music.

The trip started in Zakynthos, the third largest Greek island in Ionian sea. It is famous for its lovely coasts and turquoise sea.


Source

After unpacking in Laganas we took a half day long boat trip where we could admire the shore from afar and also enjoy swimming in warm, clear and clean sea.

DSC05969.JPG

DSC05982.JPG

DSC05977.JPG

DSC05998.JPG

After two days of relaxation on the beaches, swimming and evening dancing the time has come to take a ferry ride to the mainland Greece and learn some history.

DSC06014.JPG

Mycenae is a majestic archaeological site near Mikines which enchanted us with its ancient looks. Mycenae was one of the major centres of Greek civilization, a military stronghold which dominated much of southern Greece in the second millennium BC.

DSC06025.JPG

DSC06027.JPG

Next stop was Epidaurus and its theatre. The theatre is big as it can seat up to 14,000 people. It is also admired for its exceptional acoustics, which permit almost perfect intelligibility of unamplified spoken words from the proscenium or skēnē to all guests, regardless of their seating. They truly were great architects back in the days!

DSC06028.JPG

DSC06030.JPG

Loutraki was the resting point before we headed towards the capital city Athens the next morning. On the way we had a chance to see the great Corinth Canal which connects the Gulf of Corinth with the Saronic Gulf in the Aegean Sea. It is 6.4 kilometres (4 mi) in length and only 21.4 metres (70 ft) wide at its base, making it impassable for most modern ships. However, it has a big historical value.

DSC06045.JPG

Athens were bigger than I imagined. Especially when looking down on the city from the Athens Acropolis.

DSC06052.JPG

DSC06059.JPG

DSC06058.JPG

DSC06063.JPG

It was exhausting day wandering through the Greece capital. Greek dinner with traditional Greek music and dance was a perfect match afterwards. I thought it could not get better. Boy was I wrong!

There was no sleeping in the day after. We headed to a very special place called Meteora. We visited one of the monasteries there and the view was magnificent from the ground as much as from the top.

DSC06097.JPG

DSC06112.JPG

DSC06108.JPG

DSC06126.JPG

It was amazing experience that I would love to repeat. Maybe for even longer than one week this time.

DSCN0252.JPG

I thank all of you that took time to take a short virtual trip to Greece with me. I hope it was time well spent :)

Until the next time!

Sort:  

Great photos again @k4r1nn. Upvoted. One funny thing I remember from the Greece trip are so many shops in Athenes selling fur coats while it was 40 degrees outside! :)

Thank you! Yeah I remember seeing that too. I saw this one in Delphi. I think they get some cold weather in winter. However seeing all the winter clothes in the middle of August was kind of bizarre.

Thanks for sharing. I wish I could have made it to Athens while I was in Turkey this month.

You are welcome. Turkey must be nice. Still need to go there. What did you like the most?

Besides the desserts; kunefe, baklava and blackberry Turkish delight. My favorite part was going to Ephesus and seeing the Roman ruins.

Thanks for sharing. I've been traveling around the world living out of a backpack for over ten years. I've pretty much avoided Europe as I know it's expensive. But next year I'm going to take a trip and will likely be hitting up Greece. So thank you for the good info. I recently published a brief yet very informative article on Lake Atitlan, Guatemala, where I am now. You can see it here if you'd like. https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/world-travel-report-paradise-hot-spot-lake-atitlan-guatemala

From one traveler to another.......up voted and following. Chow!

Europe is not cheap but I am sure that with your ten year backpacking experience you would do just fine. Also Greece was not that expensive. Not sure how prices changed in few years but it is worth going. I was never in places like Guatemala and Ecuador. It looks very nice. Just like your posts!

Thank you, to my understanding with the economic problems Greece has had over the recent years it has gotten much less expensive. Later today I'll be posting my Panama report. Hope you check it out. Have a great day!

Hi there. I just posted a great post that I'm really proud of, very well done. It's on a little back packer hot spot in Nicagua. I think you'd enjoy the read and the info.
Thank you in advance. Dan, World Travel Pro

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/backpacker-hot-spot-report-2-san-juan-del-sur-nicaragua

Wow, that country has such a rich history, I hope I can go there one day. I went to China last March, you should check out my blog!

It truly does. Just like China. Some nice photos you have there! Good job :)

Beautiful post. I would like to travel there.

Thank you. I hope you will soon. And do not forget; when you do let us know! I would love to see some photo updates ;)

I share your passion about greece, have been to Thassos, which is a less touristic island in the area of thessaloniki and its beautiful + the food is great. 🍗

Checked up Thassos and it looks really nice. I know, the food is great. The only part I did not quite like is that it takes so long to get the food after ordering it :)

But it cant be any more fresh , because basically the the locals live mainly from fishing and olivetrees and tourism of course.

Nice images - it took me back to a school trip to Greece I was on many years ago now.

Mycenae is amazing - so much history and incredible that parts are still standing after thousands of years.

The Corinth Canal is also a staggering piece of engineering!

Nice destination for a school trip.

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40