London Calling

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

If you want to see what is great about Great Britain you should start with its capital London.

I came to London prepared! With the biggest, newest purple umbrella which remained untouched till unpacking time back at home. I was lucky to have zero days of rain while the whole trip.

DSC00863_1.jpg

Take a photo tour with me and let me convince you that London is the city you simply need to see for yourself!

I was hesitating to upload all these photographs in one post but I could not leave out any more than I already have. I want to show all the diversity a city can have. It is fascinating how all the different times left unique footprints throughout the history.

Personally I love statues of any kind - as you will see from many of my photos.

Take a deep breath and dive in..London is calling..

DSC00528.JPG

DSC00529.JPG

I love to learn about sights when I am in front of them. Since the city is huge there is no way I would take a guided walking tour. Not with only five days I had. This is why I chose bus tour - in my opinion one of the best ways to explore London. I booked two day tour and it was perfect.

DSC00533.JPG

DSC00535.JPG

DSC00537.JPG

DSC00541.JPG

DSC00554.JPG

DSC00551.JPG

DSC00558.JPG

DSC00560.JPG

DSC00563.JPG

DSC00570.JPG

DSC00574.JPG

DSC00579.JPG

DSC00582.JPG

DSC00584.JPG

DSC00597.JPG

DSC00602.JPG

DSC00612.JPG

DSC00613.JPG

DSC00620.JPG

DSC00627.JPG

DSC00628.JPG

DSC00630.JPG

DSC00633.JPG

DSC00638.JPG

DSC00640.JPG

DSC00647.JPG

DSC00658.JPG

DSC00670.JPG

DSC00671.JPG

DSC00674.JPG

DSC00680.JPG

DSC00684.JPG

DSC00685.JPG

DSC00690.JPG

DSC00692.JPG

DSC00695.JPG

DSC00707.JPG

DSC00717.JPG

DSC00729.JPG

DSC00734.JPG

DSC00740.JPG

DSC00742.JPG

DSC00743.JPG

DSC00746.JPG

DSC00749.JPG

IMAG1889.jpg

DSC00756.JPG

DSC00764.JPG

DSC00778.JPG

DSC00787.JPG

DSC00797.JPG

DSC00802.JPG

DSC00804.JPG

DSC00808.JPG

DSC00809.JPG

DSC00844.JPG

DSC00847.JPG

DSC00851.JPG

DSC00854.JPG

DSC00855.JPG

DSC00858.JPG

DSC00859.JPG

DSC00864.JPG

DSC00888.JPG

DSC00891.JPG

DSC00866.JPG

DSC00872.JPG

DSC00881.JPG

DSC00879.JPG

DSC00652.JPG

Top 5 places I recommend you to see when you find yourself in London:

~Trafalgar Square

~Any Theatre

~London Tower

~Covent Garden

~Buckingham Palace

There was so many places I wanted to see but I run out of time. I will probably not go to London for quite a while because I have so many other places I want to visit. Besides if I go back to that part of Europe I would try going more to the north and experience the Great Britain away from big cities.

I appreciate your time and would also love to hear from you. What were your favorite, and not so obvious, spots that I have missed in London? I am looking forward to seeing some of your London photos!

And do not forget to have a wonderful day :)

Sort:  

Wonderful city and even a better post! Great work!

Thank you very much I appreciate such feedback :) It helps me stay motivated to keep posting my photography work - no matter how amateur it is :)

I can almost smell the history of this great city.

I agree, the historical value this city holds is amazing. Have you ever been there @oldtimer?

I'm still waiting for steem to reach $50. Then I'll say: London, I'm coming!

The sooner the better :)

I've always wanted to go to London. It is my wife's favorite city. Great photos. Really great post!! people could really learn a thing or two about how to blog by reading your posts. I am definitely following now!!

It is very nice to read such encouraging words thank you! I hope you will visit it soon. Maybe sooner than you imagined, now that we have Steemit ;)

I live in London. Best place to be here daily and enjoy everything. The pics are really excellent. Hope you had lovely time into the happening city. Which one is your most memorable site?..👍👍👍👍

Oh you are lucky aren't you. I would love to stay there longer and find little hidden places too. I did have a brilliant time. Trafalgar square and London tower were amazing. I loved the tour through the tower, I learned so many things from the history.

Awesome post! What was your favorite experience there?

Oh my I can not pick just one! My favorite three were London Tower tour because I am interested in history, afternoon tea on Trafalgar Square because it was just so peaceful even if it was busy and a play I saw in Duchess Theatre, its title was The play that goes wrong.

Yes, start with London, so you can get it out of the way..!

I know right! There is so much more out of the capital. However, it is extremely opulent and versatile city worth seeing.

Haha xD , I know it is, and you definitely did it justice with your photography. Nice post!
I'm from Yorkshire, I'm gonna cycle down there next month, looking forward to seeing the big city again.

The closest I have been to Yorkshire was Liverpool. What is the best sights to see or things to do in Yorkshire? I will keep an eye on any posts from there!

York is a lovely place, really old cobbled streets, street performers everywhere, a million weird and wonderful shops. And the countryside around here is great. :)

Sounds very tempting. I like street performers.

Consider a trip to Brighton (London by the sea) most worthy place to live in the UK, just an hour away from Victoria Station

I looked it up just now. I heard about Brighton but never really looked the info about it. It looks like a nice place and the fact that it is by the sea makes it even more attractive! Thanks for suggestion.

Brighton is love, so different than anything else in the UK. So many crazy people here, you honestly have no idea until you visit it:)

These are some top of the line picks from London, Thanks for sharing every thing looks so peaceful and cool. The building look magnificent... Thanks for sharing k4r1nn

Yeah I was the stereotypical tourist in London! In such short time you have to chose the best battles ;)

Some great pics there, hit so many of the iconic landmarks!

Thanks @moneybags. I had a lot of fun there.
P.S. Nice name you picked for Steemit. Hope your money bags fill up soon ;)

London was so cool! I was there 4 months ago and it definitely did not look that sunny lol. It was very cold!!

Well I bet it looks beautiful in any weather. What did you like the most? How long were you there for? Didn't see any posts on your blog about that yet ;)

I was there for about 1 week. It is on my introductory post! I absolutely love the culture over there, history, and also the beautiful architecture of the buildings. Them brits can drink for sure!

Oh my how could I miss that. Sorry! It has to be perfect since the Queen lives there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38