KasiaRecommends: Why I think you should visit Georgia!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

When I am thinking about my favourite travel destinations I always think about Georgia. It is not my ultimate best, but I only have very pleasant memories associated with this country and the time I spent there. It was in 2013. After my return I started to recommend this place to my friends, some of them chose to trust me and they, as well, were super satisfied with it! It is a country of contrasts, welcoming people, steeped in history, with great food and wine. And of course spectacular views! So here it goes, my (subjective!) list of reasons why I think you should visit Georgia!

3.jpg
source

#1: Location

For us, Europeans, Georgia is not so far away, although it is situated on a border between Europe and Asia, in Caucasus region. That means a few things: firstly, that it is culturally attractive and “exotic” place, but it remains accessible. Additionally, it can be reached by a relatively short plane travel (from Poland it is a little more than 4 hours) and, more importantly, is provided by low-cost airlines (like Wizzair from Poland).

2.gif
source

#2: Prices

Georgia is a truly accessible, not to say cheap, travel destination, because it is not a western, well-developed country. In other words Georgia is a paradise for low-budget travellers and backpackers.

I have been backpacking in Georgia for a week. During the whole trip I have spent 1100 PLN, which back then should be around 250, max 300 US Dollars, including: the flight tickets, travelling across the country, accommodation, delicious food and wine:) The prices have raised a bit since then, but not significantly, therefore Georgia remains attractive for all tourists, even those "on a budget".

The costs of accommodation for 1 night in a dorm room in the hostels is from around 5 to 10 dollars. If you want to travel from one city to another, you can easily use the trains. In Western Europe trains can be much more expensive than buses, but in Georgia they are not only cheap, but also safe. The same situation with food, you can easily eat in the restaurants for locals and not pay a lot!

# 3: Food

Alexander Pushkin once said

Every Georgian dish is a poem.

Georgian cuisine is sooo delicious, that my mouth is watering when I think about it :) But it is definitely not the best place to be a vegan as it is based on meat. It is also quite stodgy.
There are several traditional types of food, let me just present a few. I will definitely write a separate post, because trust me, it is worth discovering it!

Khachapuri

3.jpg
source

Khachapuri is an iconic Georgian dish! There are several variations of it but in general we can say that it is a bread filled with cheese. My absolute favourite is the one containing chunks of butter and an egg.

Khinkali

5.jpg
source

Khinkali is one of the most popular and traditional dishes. Those are the Georgian dumplings that resemble Chinese one. In general they are filled with meat, like lamb, pork or beef, and once they are served the juices remain inside.
You can find a vegetarian version of Khinkali, stuffed with cheese, or mushrooms.

# 4: Wine

Georgia has undoubtedly impressive history of the wine production is one of the oldest wine areas in the world. Just like the cuisine, the wine is a part of Georgian national identity, and something that locals are proud of. Apart from enjoying a glass of wine, or two;), you can arrange a trip to various vineyards, see how they are cultivated and take part of wine tasting.

# 5: Nature

4.jpg
source

Georgia is a small but diverse country that offers everything one can expect from a holiday destination: Seaside, national parks, or majestic mountains among others

  • Black Sea coast, with Batumi as main city in the region; the full swimming season lasts from June to the end of September.

  • Several national parks, because about 7% of Georgia’s territory is under protection.

  • The Caucasus Mountains offers skiing attractions, alpine-alike, but for a much more affordable price; and for hiking lovers there are mountains to conquer like iconic Kazbegi – 5000 meters above sea level.

# 6: Culture

Despite repeated periods of foreign occupation, Georgia’s rich and ancient historical roots date back thousands of years, lending the country a unique national heritage and culture that will excite any cultural enthusiast. Georgia’s monumental architecture, unique traditional music and colorful dances, world-renowned cinema, theater and art combine to give the country, and its hospitable and gracious citizens, a strong sense of national identity.
source

Yes, Georgia is steeped in history, and each region offers stunning spots and monuments to discover. Just to name a few – those that are inscribed in UNESCO's World Heritage List:

  • Gelati Monastery (also known as the “Golden Age of Georgia”)

6.jpg
source

  • Historical Monuments of Mtskheta, One of the oldest cities of Georgia

1.jpg
source

  • Upper Svaneti, a unique example of mountain scenery with medieval villages and tower houses.

8.jpg
source

# 7: National dances

Each region has its own distinct dance. I think that the most popular and recognisable for non-locals would be Khorumi – “the war dance”. This is definitely something worth experiencing!

Georgian_dance_3 (Copy).jpg
source

Sending joy!
Kasia

Sort:  

Well done great words .. Thank you
Travel is life
Culture, food and habits. Nothing is nicer than originality.

Thank you for such a great article, I would add people here as well, they are so hospitable and always smiling to you! I even read that they are ready to give everything to their guests, because of their tradition. When my friends were hitchhiking there it was super easy to catch the car.

you are absolutely right!

Ya, Khachapuri resembles Chinese one and I call the Chinese cousin 'Xiao Long Bao'.

It seems to me the country is truly a hidden gem not only to budget travellers but also to people who may want to explore Europe from a new perspective.

exactly! and... exactly! haha:) where are you from?

From Hong Kong but perviously in the UK for 12 years, so I have a bit of a east-meets-west mindset.

i see:) Good luck on steemit! :)

Im glad I've been following you. You've taken me see and explore the world. Thank you Kasia.

Now, this made me hungry! lol... and i just ate. I love the way the dish is made. I have to make this one day, the Khachapuri. I'm backpacking thru South Africa as we speak, and those prices for Georgia, WOW, are cheap. Thanks for sharing, I will be tuned in for your next post. I also like the way you've set up your blog I've learned much. in Appreciation..and hunger now...hahahah...H

South Africa, wow, i'm jealous! :) for how long? do u enjoy it? yeah, u definitely have to visit Georgia one day! :)

hahah... don't be, wish i could backpack there too. I've been going back and forth for a couple years now. Apologies for late reply, was offline. I love it here, the weather is the best. You must visit, put it on your list. I will be checking for ya latest posts.

Georgia is on my list :D basically anything that's backpack and budget friendly with breathtaking views I'll be on it.

I'll make sure to bookmark this one as a background travel guide :))

it should definitely be on your list! :) happy to see you here btw :)

aaaaah here is the article about Georgia... :) I just had to open my eyes! However, one doubt: why only stock photos? you didn't take any photos of your own during your trip?!?!

hi there ;) my photos... hmm.. you saw the best one, hahaha. they are all blurry:(

Oooh what a pity :( haha but your comment arrives just at the right moment: today for my last lunch in Wroclaw, I found out a Georgian restaurant XD:

IMG_20180216_132208.jpg
IMG_20180216_124847.jpg

oh!! mmm...and did you like it?? it will never be the same, but i hope you enjoyed it! please let me know later:)and how was Poland treating you? ;) :)

It was really tasty :) Proper Georgian people in kitchen and beyond the counter, as you can see in the pic ^^ Poland treated me very well and I'm sad to have to leave already tomorrow... Passed too quickly...

so happy to hear that!:) but there are more cities to visit in Poland and it's not so far from Spain, so i hope it won't be your last time ;) especially that in summer my country is a bit more pleasant ;)

@k-a-s-i-a beautiful pics from the mysterious country of Georgia. Looks like loads of fun. I do hope to travel there someday. I have been to Europe but only as far east as the Czech Republic. Look forward to reading and seeing more of your travels. Cheers- I've followed and upvoted your post.

I have invested in Steem.jpg.png

:) thank you for your kind words! there are many interesting countries in Europe, But Georgia is Eurasia, and you can really see it. this is why it's so intriguing!

really love this post!! Learnt something new today on Georgia- which before this, I thought it is only a state in the US! You have given me a good insight into Georgia - might just put this on my bucketlist of travel place now. And oh how fascinating that the Khinkali looks so much like our chinese dumplings!

thanks, that's so great to hear! i wish you can visit Georgia, it's really worth the time! :)

Great photos i keep reading your updates thanks for posting

Thank you for your comment and for being here with me☺

I like the first picture of the post. Its so beautiful

I like it as well!

It's great :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55