BoldspiritTravels on a budget: Last day in Cali, Colombia [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My last day in Cali in Colombia was fun and gave me the last opportunity to discover the city from a moto ride's perspective. 😁

6.jpg

My awesome Couchsurfing host & friend Julian has finished his job earlier so we could have a late lunch/an early supper together. Before that, he asked me if I would like to go for a moto ride with him? Like this, we could avoid inconvenient traffic as we didn't have much time at our disposal. My plane to Cartagena was departing that night, I couldn't miss it!
I have a long history with motos. I don't have a license to drive them and, at least for the moment, I don't feel I want it ;) Nevertheless, I am not scared to use it if someone I trust is a driver. My exboyfriend had a sport motorcycle and we used it a lot. I like the speed but only when I feel confident in the driver's skills. I normally wouldn't agree to go on the moto with Julian, but during my stay at his place, he was sharing stories and photos about his travels across South America on the moto.

Maybe I trust people too easily. But I agreed to his proposition to have a ride. Just like using bikes, visiting places with diverse means of communication gives you a different perspective.

We did a tour around Cali, but we had to take a break for a coffee (which obviously is sacred in Colombia! :)) as it started to rain heavily. You really should avoid riding in the rain or when the roads are slippery, therefore he decided that we went to one of his favourites barrios (neighborhoods) called San Antonio that was located nearby. This zone is said to be one of the most traditional in Cali. It has narrow streets with charming low colonial buildings.
But San Antonio has much more to offer apart from the views. It is the district with art galleries and, most importantly for me that day;) - many nice restaurants! I was strolling down the streets already a week before when I was staying in a neighborhood in a hostel called "El Viajero". Here is the post where I shared with you my opinion about this place.

2.jpg

3.jpg

Julian and I we had our late lunch/early dinner in a well-known restaurant called “El Zaguan de San Antonio". Apart from traditional meals this spot provided exquisite views of the city from its rooftop! the cuisine was delicious as well, Mniam mniam! 😁

5.jpg

As it was getting late, we rushed back to Julian's flat to take my backpacks and we went to the airport. By motorcycle as I already felt confident with his driving skills. The other important factor was time. 😅 It was late and the traffic in the early evening was terrible. I must admit I was stressed a bit that we wouldn't make it on time. But we did! 💪🏻

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! 💛

More about me here: You can travel without being wealthy aka a girl from a "struggling" family chasing her dreams!

Some of my recent stories from South America:
Boldspirit and the death road - la ruta de la muerte - Bolivia # 1 and # 2
BoldspiritTravels on a budget: “CICLOVÍA” - when bikes take over the city! Weekly! 😍 💪🏻 Bogota (Colombia) [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

Sort:  

Nice ..
Great post from you, well done on the photos
Thank you for sharing your adventure with us

its great to be a part of your post by droping my comments. awsome travelling moments @k-a-s-i-a shared with us. I am just astonished with that you are travelling with friend along with huge luggage on a bike. really appreciated

that was challenging but was worth it! cheers!:)

i tried couchsurfing too, once ,..it was a life changing experience .
i'm a terrible driver but i enjoy speed only with a trusted driver hhh.
glad that ur friend has good skills that u could make it to the airoport .

thanks for sharing! :)

How tasty it is to enjoy a trip with full freedom to explore and enjoy everything, the bad thing is to do it against the clock because it is the day of departure and flights do not wait, hahahahaha, the views you show in your photographs are beautiful, good trip and continue to delight us with the descriptions of your walks. Happiness always.

thank you, that's a kind comment! :)

Thank you for your article! You lead an exciting life! I wish you the best for the future!

i lead an exciting life from time to time unfortunately. real life ain't a piece of cake;)

Nice journy. Thanks for sheir your story .

How do You like Colombia so far?

Hope You enjoy Cartagena!

Are You planning to visit other countries in South America?

i did visit some other countries and I loved all of them. more on my blog :)

Occasionally I also go out to moto ride with a lot of craziness.

Your journey was so Cool !I like your craziness!

thanks for reading! and btw. i'm completely normal hihi:)

Glad you made it to the plane :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01