Do you want to know Kuelap ?, this was my experience

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

The first long motorcycle trip was to the pre-Inca archaeological site of Kuelap, which is located in the northeastern Andes of Peru, in the Province of Luya. According to personal inquiries, I learned that it was built by the Chachapoyas archaeological culture. I started the trip in the city of Jaén (where I currently live), heading towards the city of Pedro Ruíz Gallo which is a Peruvian town located in the Amazon region. Continuing towards the town of El Tingo where the paved road ends and then the truck trail begins.

Photo: At the bottom of a carriage trail to reach the Kuelap fortress

As the goal was to get to the same Kuelap in mototicleta, I followed the truck trail, knowing small villages accompanied by beautiful landscapes. Halfway down the road you can see Kuelap in the distance, in a rock, imposing and impressive, asking me how they did to build such a fortress in a place of almost impossible access. It was late, I do not remember the time well but it was already past 15 o'clock and my stomach was going hungry. On the road and close to reach the fort there are places where you can enjoy the traditional food that one is used to as well as food typical of the area. After enjoying lunch, I continued with the trip and not many minutes later I was already there in front of me, the great fortress of Kuelap. It was surprising the price of the entrance to the archaeological site, almost a work diary, well, I paid the same, I was already there and I wanted to meet Kuelap. When passing, what a surprise! You had to walk almost 20 more minutes to reach the same fortress. Lover of the adventure and of the natural life, there I am walking towards the fortress. Impressive, when you reach the top of the hill, about 3000 meters above sea level. The cold that I'm not used to hit me and the nose looked like an unfortunate pool.

I would not know exactly how much this entire fortress measures but it extends over 600 meters, surrounded by a huge wall made entirely of stone that they said was approximately 19 meters high. To know the place one has to take his time, because there are many places to walk, surrounded by circular houses made entirely of stone and having traveled two floors of the fort in almost an hour I finished the circuit, tired but satisfied.

Video: Tour of the Kuelap fortress


It is worth knowing this fortress, and what better now that the access has improved in a very remarkable way with the installation of a cable car that transports from the Tingo to the same Kuelap fortress.

If you want to know Kuelap, Peru, and need more information, do not hesitate to ask me in the comments, I will gladly answer your questions.


! I'm still traveling by motorbike!
Sort:  

Congratulations @juvinalch06! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @juvinalch06! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @juvinalch06! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66209.23
ETH 3496.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16