Sometimes it's best to follow rules.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

5A68ADD0-470B-48FE-B192-8A0E80859F21.jpg

Hey. So this is a picture of me standing at the edge of the Grand Canyon. Literally scared as heck because I felt like I was so close to the edge.

As we continued to walk the path to see the different parts of the canyon, we saw this trail where you weren't suppose to go, but people went anyways. It was a great spot for a picture. It was a small cliff that branched out. You had to climb down a few feet of rocks to reach the end. If you were to walk anymore out, you'd fall into the canyon.

Well, as my boyfriend and I were slowly making our way down, there was this Asian woman, that went before us. She was right about the same age as us, maybe even younger. I guess she must have slid on some small rocks/sand that was there, or something, but she went tumbling down, rolling down the cliff.

I bet you, in that moment her life flashed before her eyes. Her gaterade bottle flew out from her hands and into a bush. As she was rolling down, her body caught onto a small tree that was hanging out.

Thank goodness for that tree, otherwise I would have witnessed a death by the Grand Canyon. I swear that 🌲 tree saved her life. They say that12 people die in the Grand Canyon each year. I am glad she didn't become that statistic.

She was tumbling, and rolling down. I just stood there, helpless. Because what can you do?

The lesson here is sometimes it's best to follow rules.

This is a true story, btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63