๐™บ๐š‘๐š–๐šŽ๐š›๐š’๐šŒ๐šŠ๐š— ๐™ต๐šŠ๐š–๐š’๐š•๐šข ๐™ฐ๐š‹๐š›๐š˜๐šŠ๐š #๐Ÿ๐Ÿ– ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง ๐๐š๐œ๐ค ๐ข๐ง ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐‚๐š๐ซ๐ข๐›๐›๐ž๐š๐ง

in #travel โ€ข 4 years ago (edited)

Reunited.JPG


ย ย ย ย ย I didn't intend to be in the USA for over 5 weeks, but those are the cards I was dealt. I intended a short trip to see friends and family, and also bring back 5 suitcases of Ital kitchen supplies and stuff for the family.

SurinameBorder.png

An Exodus From Suriname โœˆ๏ธ

SurinameBorder.png

ย ย ย ย ย I landed in Miami at 3pm to a temperature of 74 ยฐF (23 ยฐC), something I didn't realize would be unbearably cold for me. Accustomed to the Suriname climate, 74 ยฐF is about as cold as I have ever seen it get here in Suriname at night.

MomAndMe.jpgThe mothership & I in Florida

ย ย ย ย ย Things never go as planned, and a short trip turned into a 5+ week absence from ReggaeSteem.io, and the internet in general. However, I tried to make the most of my time there, visiting those unlikely to come to Suriname to see us. Unfortunately, @Sreypov and the @KidSisters were unable to go to the USA due to visa restrictions.

ย ย ย ย ย The trip served several purposes, but visiting family is always the main priority. I've lived outside the USA for over 10 years, so I try to make each visit count, as they don't come often. I mostly went to deliver the news that @Sreypov and I have decided the western hemisphere just isn't for us.

ย ย ย ย ย I knew this would come as a shock considering the struggle and effort it took to get out of Cambodia as a united family. I felt it best to deliver this news in person, and to let loved ones know now is the chance to get acquainted with my Cambodian family. Suriname is as close as we're ever likely to legally get to the USA, so it's up to the powerful passport holders to finish the last leg of the journey from Miami to Paramaribo, and come see Suriname's first Cambodians.

SurinameBorder.png

Random Sidenote ๐Ÿ“

SurinameBorder.png

AIGHouse.jpg
House of an AIG bigshot, a company that received $85+ billion in government bailout money

ย ย ย ย ย On they way home from the Miami airport, we passed a house with bulletproof glass and shutters covered in security cameras. Since it was fairly close to my mother's house, I asked if she knew anything about it. Well, it turns out the house is owned by a former and/or current AIG employee who was very high-ranking during the USA government bailout in 2008.

ย ย ย ย ย My mom actually walked through this house at night when it was under construction and unsecured. She told me it also complete with a fortified panic room in the basement. Apparently the house has been copied and rebuilt for the owner in several countries. The only way to know when he is staying there is all the bulletproof shutters are opened a couple inches. Seems like perfect Babylonian karma that he ends up living a prisoner of his own luxury.

SurinameBorder.png

Tough News ๐Ÿ˜ž

SurinameBorder.png

ChefSreyYuu.jpgItal chef Srey Yuu using her new knife

ย ย ย ย ย It was hard telling family members our intentions are to head back to the East. They think because we are surrounded by Asians and Rastas that we would be happy here.

ย ย ย ย ย There is however, much more to life than being among people that externally have a lot in common with us. The Cambodian countryside is actually the place where my Rastafari livity and spirituality have flourished most.

@Sreypov and I both feel, after living in Ecuador and Suriname, that the western hemisphere is too full of stress and complex lives. We miss roadside enterprise, the convenience of being able to purchase an ice cold coconut anywhere, a liter of gas and a phone card all within 100 meters of your house no matter if you live in the city or in the middle of the ricefields.

ย ย ย ย ย Jamaica still has many semi-legal sidewalk cafes and a little bit of roadside hustle, but all-in-all it's a dying way of life in the west, as the cost of living is just too high to survive via these methods. My Surinamese friends tell me there were many mini mom-and-pop shops here 20+ years ago, but those days are long gone.

MonkeySlime.jpgMonkey B enjoying her SLIME

ย ย ย ย ย Our livity is very dear to us, so that's why after almost a year in the western hemisphere, we have decided we thrive more in the East. But heading back to Suriname without luxury goods from the USA would be a sin, so I treated to the family to some much apprecialoved surprises.

ย ย ย ย ย Srey Yuu wants to be an Ital chef when she grows up, so I gifted her a kid-sized chef's knife. Monkey B wanted "SLIME", something she has only seen on a screen, so this was a cheap and easy purchase. As for Sreypov and I, I re-equipped our Ital kitchen with a cold-press juicer and and an Indian style blender/food processor. Of course there were many more surprises, but I'm just giving the highlights of my return to Suriname.

SurinameBorder.png

A Plan ๐Ÿ’ก

SurinameBorder.png

ย ย ย ย ย In making a decision to return to Cambodia, we decided we will not depart Suriname before we accomplish the two goals we set. One was to get legally married, something impossible for us in Cambodia. In the USA I got an apostilled birth certificate, the last document I needed in order for us to get an internationally recognized marriage in Suriname.

ย ย ย ย ย The other goal was to introduce my American family members to my Khmer family. This is set to happen sometime in April, with a visit from both my father and mother on separate trips. After these visits have manifested, we are off to Camboland.

ย ย ย ย ย The goal is to buy a small plot of land in Pailin, Tatai, Pursat or Preah Vihear. These are the most peaceful and beautiful places we've seen in Cambodia, and the aim is to build a mini Ital bed & breakfast resort with very simple bamboo bungalows and an in-house farm-to-table restaurant.

SreypovHorse.JPG
@Sreypov and I on one of many Cambodian adventures from the past - we miss the simple life

SurinameBorder.png

๐Ÿ™ THANKS FOR READING ๐Ÿ™

If you like this post, consider upvoting and resteeming. โ™จ๏ธ
TaEySeyWatermark.png
@JustinParke

SurinameBorder.png

ษช sแดœแด˜แด˜แดส€แด› แด€ษดแด…/แดส€ แด…แด‡สŸแด‡ษขแด€แด›แด‡ แด›แด
@JoshMan โœญ @Canadian-Coconut โœญ @SreyPov โœญ @KidSisters

NaturalMedicineLogo.png
ReggaeSteemLogo.png
TravelFeedLogo.png
EcoTrainLogo.png
OCDLogo.png
InnerBlocksLogo.png
CreativeCoinLogo.png
VegansOfSteemi![PowerHouseCreativesLogo.png](https://files.steempeak.com/file/steempeak/justinparke/1kmE6o6k-Power-House-Creatives-Logo.png)tLogo.png
CurangelLogo.png
CSquaredLogo.png
QuratorLogo.png
MinnowSupportLogo.png
NeoxianCityLogo.png
SteemWorldorgLogo.png
PowerHouseCreativesLogo.png
TenkMinnowsLogo.png
BuildItLogo.png
SteemitWorldMapLogo.png

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Sort: ย 

Really admire your way of life and moving on when things arenโ€™t bliss. Yeah man inJamaica the roadside stalls slowly dying out ( still some life in it ) but I can see where Jamaica is heading. The Irie natural life sounds like it is for you and the fam. Love the Bnb idea with the ital livity built in. I feel you will be fine in the east.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Give thanks @dmilliz!!

ย ย ย ย ย Life in Jamaica would be more friendly to our way of life, but we also realize the way of life we are speaking of in Jamaica is slowly dying. There is also the complicated visa for myself, and it's nothing short of impossible for a Cambodian to go. Cambodia isn't Shangri-La, but it's a safe place to carry out our Livity in peace. Even H.I.M. Emperor Haile Selassie I himself has been to Cambodia, so I rest easy knowing I trod in the footsteps of the Emperor. Besides, over there, we're turning people on to Ital who have never even heard of it before. More time....


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Interesting story and way of life you have there. Not everyone in the East is meant for the west and vice-versa. Best of Luck!


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

True words @crypticat.

ย ย ย ย ย It also sucks that not every place we want to live wants to let us live there. I have a very interesting opportunity to teach Cambodian language to German medical workers in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, an opportunity we still often consider.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Wow! That little plot that you guys intend to buy sounds great my friend. Especially if you have some bungalows for visitors. Steemit will make a good marketing place for your notices and maybe even advertisements.
Maybe you can start a Cambodia community here on steemit?
Blessings to you guys and your future dreams!

Thanks, it's a dream we really hope to make happen. It's funny you say that, because I was a teacher in Cambodia for 9 years, and I have been wondering for a few years if could teach Steemit to a group of Cambodian kids to build the Cambodian steemit community. However, there is something called Serey.io, a social blockchain in the Khmer language. We don't know too much about it, but I'm setting a profile up today for @Sreypov.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Well, maybe you should see my comment as an affirmation of your plans my friend. I presume that @Sreypov will be intended to be a community on steemit and that you will teach your communities to become members of it?
A great idea and with your teaching experience it can definitely work.
Blessings to your efforts!

Give thanks! Who knows, maybe by the time we're back in Cambodia, @Sreypov might be Steem savvy enough to teach a little herself.

That would indeed be a great start my friend.
All of the best to your plans.
Blessings!

You have a beautiful family! I hope you guys are able to make it back to Cambodia. Maybe we will meet before then. ;-)

Yeah bro, good to make a link, and I am glad to assist you in any way I can in dealing with Suriname immigration procedures. Hope to see you in SU.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Give thanks @InnerBlocks! Bless up!


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hi, I haven't seen you in a while
Happy Friday

Give thanks @txatxy! It's good to be back and reconnected, but the break from the internet was a welcome surprise.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

and very good sometimes hehe

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=justinparke
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=4h26gz


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44