Solomon's Ford Maribyrnong River Crossing - Victoria, Australia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The Solomon's Ford, as it's known is a great place to cross the Maribyrnong River if you're walking the river trail as the rocks are just close enough to step across. 

In fact, I've regularly carried my bike across even when there's a decent flow in the river. And although some rocks might be underwater, I've never been totally cut off from the other side.

However, besides a river crossing it's also a nice place to relax as there are usually plenty of native birds around taking a bath or sunning on the rocks.

Here's a White-faced Heron or Egretta novaehollandiae as bird watchers would call them. 

Moments before taking this photo, it was standing peacefully on the rocks minding its own business and I thought I'd get a little closer just in case it decided to stretch his wings.

He could see me inching closer, but didn't appear to be too concerned until I stumbled on one of the rocks, almost losing my phone in the mad scramble to stay out of the water.

And as I looked up he took off into the air, and fortunately, I managed to grab a shot before he disappeared out of sight.

<Note to Self: Don't take up bird watching>

The Solomon's Ford is also a great place to take your kids to play with the river, as it's not too deep around the rocks and usually has small fish swimming near the edges and frogs croaking in the reeds. 

And as you'd expect there are plenty of bugs and dragonfly's playing with the surface of the water. So make sure you take a bug catcher and butterfly net.

The native ducks are pretty friendly too!

The one downside to this area is there isn't any seating so be prepared to sit on the rocks if you plan on taking in the scenery for an extended period.

Finally, here's a link to the Maribyrnong River Loop Map in case you want a leisurely 4km stroll, or an easy mountain bike trail to ride.

So if you're ever in the area and need a place to cross the Maribyrnong River by foot, you can always head to the Solomon's Ford and skip across the rocks!

Solomon's Ford you're on the map!

!steemitworldmap -37.770083 lat 144.851303 long Solomon's Ford d3scr

Sort:  

Thank-you. Although I just used a Smart Phone on this ocassion.

Beautiful location, beautiful place & beautiful Pic...

A walk I have not done yet - I will put it on my list

indeed it is a nice place to go and relax and clear you head and feel the nature

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=just2random
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=solomon-s-ford-maribyrnong-river-crossing-victoria-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This place reminds me a lot of this river that runs through New Mexico. I used to go there every summer to fish with my aunt and uncle.

That's what it looked like before the EPA "accidentally" let loose millions of gallons of mine sludge in an effort to keep that sludge from ever getting into the water. This is what it looked like after:

animas river.jpeg

I think it's back to normal now, but there is still trace levels of toxicity from the spill and that was drinking water to some of the population! Anyway, treasure the beautiful things because overnight they can be ruined!

Solomon's Ford is an amazing place.I wished to visit australia :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68