Alphonse Mucha part I/ St. Vitus CathedralsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

For long time I been thinking to make a post about my Prague visit few years ago, paying special attention to Alphonse Mucha work since he was the main reason I went to Prague. And yesterday after talking with @alcy and mentioning Mucha work I started this post.



That winter I was thinking to take first of my solo trips ever. And looking for destination I came across information that A.Mucha Slavic epic is exhibited in Prague! It was surprise for me since I watched some documentary where it was said that paintings are at his home town Ivancice, and it was a trip to take.
So, at that moment my trip was decided. And preparation for it.


Found all the information regarding his museum in center of city, charming small museum where you are not allowed to take photos, but if you get chance go there, don't miss the back room where is short documentary of his life played.
I set there for 20 min watching story of a hard worker who was following his dream called Slavic epic.
And second all about Veletrzni palac, http://www.ngprague.cz/en/ place I will go to see epic.

But, despite all my preparations I missed one detail, and that was his stained-glass window work at St. Vitus Cathedral.


st vito2.jpg


On first day we came at Prague, after 16 hours bus drive 😰, before entering rooms, guides took us for a quick visit at Hradcany castle. Inside castle is St. Vitus Cathedral, amazing in all points.

sv vito1.jpg



Gothic cathedral rising in the sky, and if you look at her from any side, you notice it's astonishing beauty and numerous details. Stone lace details, mosaics and gargoyles watching you from every corner.

stvit4.jpg


stvit15.jpg


stvit14.jpg


Her beauty continues to fascinate from inside also. Some parts of cathedral can be entered, and some are forbidden for visitors.


stvit16.jpg


stvit10.jpg


And while looking around like mad man, I totally was not prepared for the moment I recognized A. Mucha work on stained glass windows. O what a joy, to see him so unexpected and on a first day, it was gift from heaven.
Unfortunately my camera is not so good one and the part where are his works can't be reached from close.


stvit5.jpg


stvit6.jpg


stvit7.jpg


And even here in time of 1931 that windows were made, he was adding motives of his Slavic dream, like the
window that portrays the boy St. Wenceslas with his grandmother St. Ludmila , surrounded by moments from the lives of Saints Cyril and Methodius who were spreading Christianity among the Slavs.



Hope you liked this little story about Prague, A. Mucha and Cathedral. Soon I will try to post more from this visit and of course more from Mucha.

And here is your guide of this trip
stvit11.jpg



Have a nice day :)

Sort:  

I remember seeing his stained glass at that cathedral.. it was so different than thte other windows... beautiful work and amazing colors...

Yes, you noticed good, that's why I was so surprised when I saw his work. First I saw those other, so different.

Da, da obozavam :)

Изврсно @jungwatercolor. Претпостављам да је било инспирације и за неки будући акварел :)

hvala @lighteye, pa priznajem da od tada radim veoma pod uticajem gospodina :) Pogotovo portrete. I bas uzivam u tome, cak i nije problem ako je vidljiv uticaj Art Nouveau-a :)

Ah so wonderful to see those stained-glass windows in the cathedrals and churches. I once had ambitions to be a stained-glass artist so this was a treat.

@arthuradamson, true treat will be when I post his Slavic epic :) Amazing work, unfortunately this year Czech republic send canvases to Japan on exhibition even it is risky, since he was working with temperas and there is big chance for damaging works :( There was even petition to sign against that, but politic never goes with art...

Awesome post thank you for sharing ! Thhese stained glasses are so beautiful.... It's a shame he did there only. It would have been great to get some more in other european countries as well haha

thank you @alcy, it is part your share I made it :) I am working on second part but it will take time. yes, it would be nice to see his work somewhere else. But that's Prague charm, like you are walking with Mucha himself, so many things came from his work and ideas.

Hello dear ! :-)
Just wondering, how is your artwork coming around on this? - "thinking thinking of woman in future on some crazy ship flying and struggling with storm :) what do you think ? It has to be woman xaxaaxa" are you making it? :-)

O my dear :( thank's for asking, but i caught pretty bad cold, and been doing some oil paintings, some commission work so I had to put aside that drawing. But still she is in my mind, waiting for her turn :)

I started it :) You will see it for a few days :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jungwatercolor to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77