DIY PH Travel#6: Fort San Pedro - Cebu CitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Finally, I have a new DIY travel blog up today after days of mainly just posting photographs. Perhaps I was inspired to write more about what I really love to do because of what sir @long888 told me on my previous blog post. Currently, I want to challenge myself and build my steemit profile too. I want to get my travel experiences here.

Today, I felt like going back to past times so I thought of sharing a museum again in the beautiful city of Cebu.
fort3.jpg

Fort San Pedro

It's quite funny that the place which is very near to you seem to also be a place which you can't visit that often. That is the case with Fort San Pedro in Cebu City. I am currently based in Cebu although I am from Bohol.

I had been passing by this area whenever I go travel to my home province in Bohol. The ships that go from and to Cebu and Bohol are located in Cebu City's port 1 and Fort San Pedro is just a corner before the port. However, it is also a spot which I don't get to visit often. Why? I don't know perhaps it was because most of those who visits here are those who are just spending time with t
heir loved ones.

fort2.jpg

Tourists outside of the Fort San Pedro entrance.

Gladly, with a friend's invitation, my husband and I finally got the chance to visit the site. I never thought that it would be giving us historical information. I know that it is a historical place but never really thought that there are pieces of history which can be found inside. All this time I thought it only contains those rocks and lime stones which had been used to construct it. I was wrong all a long.

fort6.jpg

Photos of the old Fort

fort9.jpg

Wooden carvings

So at the entrance we have to pay a certain amount to get in, all visitors do so. It was also surprising that there were lots of tourists who would also visit it! Again, I thought it is a boring area to go to but then, why are all these people coming inside? Well, it was something for me to find out.

Photos of the old Fort San Pedro was displayed at the entrance area. This has been used before as a place against those who come to attack or conquer Cebu. There were canyons and other evidences of being used as weapons. They are now left as just something to be reminded of the past happenings. There were photos of the ancient people too and how they look like before and a lot more.

fort5.jpg

If you had checked my previous blogs specially the one about Casa Gorordo, these structures are really related to each other as well as those other houses which had survived world war II.

fort1.jpg

Canons at Fort San Pedro, Cebu City.

However, there's one thing that I had as well noticed in this area, aside from it being a historical place, it was also used as wedding ceremony locations as well as photo shoot session spots! As a matter of fact, there were models and photographers who were having some e-sessions I guess and we had to move on to another spot so not to disturb them.

At the end of our day there, my husband and I learned a lot that we didn't expect. I believe we will have another opportunity to come back in the future which I look forward to.

fort8.jpg

How to Get There?

For those coming from the other islands like Bohol, it is just walking distance from the port.

From downtown Cebu City, over can take any jeepneys going to the port such as 12G or 12I. Fare usually is at Php 7. If you don't want to be stressed with jeepney routes, you may book an uber or Grab or normal taxi. Fare would usually be between Php 70 to 100.

Entrance Fee:

Php 30 - adults, foreigners or local
Php 20 - students and children
Php 24 - senior citizens

Fort Santiago is open from 8 in the morning to 8 in the evening. However, there's Plaza Independencia in front of it and anyone can come to chill, even sleep there.

!steemitworldmap 10.292536 lat 123.905917 long d3scr

xo JUNEBRIDE xo


steemit.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @junebride to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This is nice photography.keep it up and thanks for sharing. I've up voted post.
Make friends and have fun.
I'm a friend @mdfoysal

thank you dear!

Wow another good place to visit when in Cebu. I had been in Zamboanga City before, my first work assignment when I was hired by Mercury Drug and I was able to visit Fort Pilar. Fort Pilar and fort Santiago have lots in common one is that canon.

Anyhow nice to have you back with this amazing travel blog, hope this will be noticed by #curie and the whales....
#untalented
#steemit-untalented

STEEMIT ACHIEVERS PHILIPPINES
Soar High Be An Inspiration

#steemitachievers

daghang salamat sir!

The travel queen. Loding lodi talaga. Wala ako masabi. Hehe! I love the stone architecture!

Kaya lang after 7 days wala na kita post kaya wala ako plan magpost ng pang 4-5 star blog dito 😜😝

follow kita sis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56662.37
ETH 2982.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15