Visit to Turtle and Tortoise Museum, Singapore ( Julie Bawk)

in #travel6 years ago

151.JPG

Hello from Singapore my steemit friends. I am visiting Singapore second time this year , this time I came to Singapore to accompany and tour around my uncle, who is visiting Singapore. My uncle is about 70 years old. He said, for him this visit to Singapore is the first over sea trip in life and could be his first and last visit to Singapore.

157.JPG

After first day toured in Singapore, the next morning when he woke up, he said " I could't sleep last night because after one day toured in Singapore, only now I realize how much damaged our country rulers have done in the past 50 -60 years". If you are my fellow Myanmar countrymen, you would understand what he is trying to say.

153.JPG
this tortoise name is "beautifu".

Anyway, i am not here to emphasis on my uncle' visit. I am here to share about this Singapore Live Turtle and Tortoise Museum. This Museum is located in Chinese Graden, which is one of the famous tourist attraction place here in Singapore. I have been to Chinese Garden a few times, during my 6 years stayed here but I never tried to visit this Live Turtle and Tortoise Museum.

153.JPG

This time also I had no intention of visiting the Museum, I just wanted my uncle to see the surrounding places in the garden. But then when we arrived there, one Museum staff, who is Burmese approached us and persuaded us to see the Museum. She said, this Turtle and Tortoise Museum has to move out of Chinese Garden soon and she said' there is rare species of turtle and tortoise too see". we went into the Museum because I wanted to acknowledged her afford and beside it is only S$5 each person for entry.

154.JPG
this tortoise name is "blacky".

The Museum staff bring us around the Museum and explained us in Burmese. It was indeed worth spending S$ 5 to see rare species of turtles and tortoise. And the next morning I found this news about turtle and tortoise museum on Today News.
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/turtle-and-tortoise-museum-facing-race-against-time-find-new-home

156.JPG

155.JPG

This is Snake-Nacked Turtle ( Hydromedusa Tectifera). Orininally from South Brazil, North Argentina and Uruguay. This species has an exceptionally long neck that resembles a snake. Amazingly, it breathes through its skin and has strong front claws to catch its prey. Interesting facts is, being able to protect its head and long neck from the hot sun beneath the overhanging lip of its carapace. Nicknamed " Stinker", it emits a strong smelling liquid to scare away the predators"

I will share about others species in the next post. see you ! :)

Julie Bawk ( Kachin)

Sort:  

This is very educative. I have had a similar experience when I visited Okomu National Park, somewhere in Nigeria 5 years ago. They explained about how they have some endangered species of animals in the park. They made emphasis on monkeys and butterflies.

It is so sad that we fail to see the cost of endangering living species. In this modern generation, we only have stories told about some certain animals which some persons assume to be myth while some believe due to fossil record but it would have been much more preferable if such animals had not gone into extinction.
Such include the dinosaurs, the dragon, just to mention a few. So sad we will never get to see them again.

Thanks for your post, it is actually the most educating post I have read today.

Thank you. I sincerely appreciate your comment. :)

Congratulations @juliebawk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18