Moved To Thailand Alone At The Age Of 17

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I had been daydreaming​ about heading off to a place very far away, somewhere​ completely​ foreign​ to me. I was 17 at the time and these desires started to get stronger but I​ was still stuck in class learning about things I would never apply in real life. So I had come up with a "genius" plan, I would travel the world with my camera and capture everything so I could share it on social media and get paid the big bucks and travel forever!! at the time this sounded crazy because very few people were doing it and half of them worked for national geographic. That same day I went out and applied at every store that was hiring on my side​ of town, three days later I got a job at Goodwill​ and it was rough at first it being my first job and all but I​ pushed through it and saved up every penny for three months until​ had enough for the trip. After a week of searching​ I​ found a ticket from San​ Francisco​ to Phuket​ Thailand with a 13 hour layover in Hong Kong.

Now the long layover was on purpose​ I wanted to experience all of Asia​ with the​ two grand I​ had saved up​ bu​t when it came down to booking it my body was overcome with fear and uncertainty.​ I froze up because I​ knew there was no one but my self to blame if anything happened​. I closed the computer and decided to watch a movie and get back to it later, now I don't​ know how but I ended up watching The Beach the one were young Leonardo​ DiCaprio​​ goes to Thailand​ alone​ with the desire to find something real, to connect with something or someone and ends up finding a secret island. The moment the movie showed the islands of Thailand​ I got up and booked the ticket. It felt great afterward​ I had taken​ control of my life and made a ​step towards living the life I always wanted to.

The Day I Landed In Hong Kong

After what the 12-hour​ flight from San​ Francisco​ to hong kong my adventure began. I had to quickly put together a plan to explore as much of hong kong as I​ could and I​ had 7 hours to do it. I​ knew I​ couldn't​ afford to take​ a​ cab so I decided to hop on a train ( fun fact I've​ never been on a train) so there was that and everything was mostly written in Chinese​ and I​ had no idea where I​ was going all I​ knew is I​ wanted to take photos of the city. Thankfully some businessmen who spoke english told me I​ should go to central​ Hong Kong, so I did and it turned out to be the best decision​ I've​ ever made​ i​t was so beautiful. The city had a romantic essence to it it was so mysterious​ yet felt safe.

25005576_1657439857635067_6705368655514828800_n.jpg

I walked around for a few hours taking pictures​ until I​ found a huge Ferris ​wheel where you could look over the whole city and​ hopped​ on with two Germans​ and on Italian​ it was incredible​.

IMG_8031.jpg

After a great night in hong kong, ​I​ decided to head back to the airport so I could catch my next flight​ to Thailand​.

The flight to Thailand​ was only 5 hours and the Thai​ people were so welcoming and kind. But holy f@#k was it a culture shock everything was so different. It took me a week to get used to how things were run there. oh and the beaches? well, ​I​ don't​ even have to try to explain​ with words, here is a photo I​ took with my iPhone​ the first day I​ got to the island of Koh​ Phi Phi...

IMG_8085.jpg

The rest of the trip consisted of renting a moped for 7 dollars a day and learning​ how to ride it.

5983F7ED-C9CF-45A3-96DC-1F83B701D3B1.jpgDBED4300-0399-4330-94B0-DD1978AEDFF6.jpgDDC112AE-DE4B-4211-A9D3-6C045315870D.jpg

Played soccer on the beach with​ the locals and some European​ tourist​s.

I went to an​ island full of wild monkeys.

I​ managed to book a five​-star villa with a private pool and personal chefs for 60 dollars a night.

IMG_3598.jpgIMG_6797.jpg

I constantly would get lost in tiny villages from driving with out a GPS​ IMG_7933.jpg

I also met my​ first mentor, a former Buddhist​ monk. He taught me how to meditate and showed me around the temples​ ​ IMG_3531.jpg

I learned how to wash and feed elephants.

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 11.30.14 AM.png

I partied every night​...

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 1.14.51 PM.png

Then I​ was hospitalized for three days and almost died from eating on the streets with the dogs and walking around barefoot.

IMG_7268.JPG

On my last day, ​the drive back to the airport was the perfect ending to a beautiful​ journey. The sun was setting over the beautiful Thai​ city which now felt like home.

67DD196E-B69D-446C-B749-ED4575A13D8D.jpg

I realized this trip had taught​ me more about life than​ the twelve years of school I had just​ finished​, I​ knew this was the end of this trip but it was just the beginning​ to many more.

link to the film I​ made while I​ was there.

Sort:  

Wow good for you! I never would have had the guts to travel so far away alone it looks like you had an amazing time.

It was an amazing trip!

Seemed like a beautiful trip. I hope you got everything you went searching for. :)

Congratulations @juliantorres! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @juliantorres! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65