A Paradise of Clear Waters and Rich Biodiversity : Kota Kinabalu

in #travel7 years ago

Ever since I was a kid, I always look forward to the summer season. It's because I am a big fan of the sea. I love how the sun makes the shore dazzling, the waves hitting the bay calmly, the salty water sipping in my skin. Vacation at the beach is just heaven for me.

Kota Kinabalu, a city and the capital of Malaysia's Sabah State is known for its beautiful beaches and rainforests. I've been itching to visit this place ever since, and so let me share to you my experiences having to finally explored the wonderful paradise of Kota Kinabalu.

IMG_4204.JPG

So me and my friends were actually able to visit Kota Kinabulu through a ferry from Muara, Brunei going to Labuan, Malaysia. From there, we rode another ferry ride going to Kota Kinabalu. We spent a total of less than Php 1000 for both the ferry rides. It's cheap as compared to riding a plane. The travel is about 7 hrs combined; quite tedious but it's worth it.

We headed straight to our rented apartment for two days. As a tip for travelers on a tight budget, booking in Airbnb is a really good deal. It's cheap and a lot of good hosts for apartments can be found. You just need to be good at reading reviews. ;)

IMG_4212.JPG

Look at this real-life sim city!

We were lucky to have booked a condo unit worth Php 3934 for two days. This costs us Php 787 each. The place is really cozy and our host is very hospitable. We were actually in awe to see that for two days, we will be living in that sim city like condominium.

IMG_4208.JPG

Yummy Lobster!

After settling our things in the condo, we went to Kota Kinabalu Waterfront. This place is the center of KK's night life. Strolling around this place, you'll hear the vendors and servers speaking Filipino fluently. This is quite normal here, since Sabah region is really near the Philippines. Talk to them in Filipino and you'll be amazed that they learned the language not because they have Filipino blood but because they want to cater and entertain Filipino tourists. The food here is quite cheap, who would have thought that a LOBSTER, fish and squid dinner for five would only cost around Php 4000.

We then went back to our condo after a good food trip. Main transportation here in KK is riding a cab. And oh, just a trivia, GrabTaxi actually originated in Malaysia. :)

IMG_4207.JPG

Be amazed by the clear waters and preserved island forests of KK

Kota Kinabalu visit will never be complete without an island hopping! Many tour packages can be availed at Jesselton Point, the pier in KK. We booked a tour in three different islands costing almost Php 1000 inclusive of snorkeling and banana boat ride.

Visiting three different islands made no difference, every beach in KK is a paradise. The clear waters, colorful fishes, fine sand, and the healthy and conserved forests of Kota Kinabalu islands will captivate your soul. I am actually amazed by how they have preserved the forests and the beaches. I even got to swim together with a monitor lizard! Yes, you read it right, as I was swimming in the beach, I came across a monitor lizard swimming leisurely in the waters. Of course, I panicked when I saw one, but I felt happy afterwards; since seeing a monitor lizard there means that they aren't disturbed at their own habitat. Walking and strolling around the beach and part of the forest will amaze you more since you will actually came across more monitor lizards and different species of birds.

IMG_4206.JPG

Calm shore of Sapi Island, Kota Kinabalu

The banana boat ride we went in KK is a crazy one where were were thrown out of the boat. It feels good. But the more exciting one is the Coral Flyer Zipline. This zipline is strung up between Gaya and Sapi island, running 250 meters long. I tried ziplining in the past; however, this one may be the longest, and the fact that it runs from one island to another is quite thrilling. I'm not actually afraid of heights and so I tried this ride without any second thoughts. And it was worth it! Having to see the clear blue waters and green trees surrounding the island made me forget any fear and appreciate the two minutes of peace looking at this wonderful place.

IMG_4205.JPG

Survived the Coral Flyer Zipline!

My two-day trip to Kota Kinabalu was worthwhile. It made me realize that the beauty of nature cannot be developed, but instead,should be preserved. Kota Kinabalu experience is definitely a must try!

Selamat Tinggal, Kota Kinabalu!

Sort:  

its been nice seeing Kk through ur eyes. quick question for my future reference, how did u get to Muara, Brunei from PH? Did you fly or theres some other means.

I booked a flight from PH to Brunei. Then traveled to KK. You can actually visit 2 countries that way.

Wonderful... looking forward to visit that piece of paradise one day!

You should! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39