Nippon: The Land of the Rising Sun

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Nippon literally means "the sun's origin" and is normally coined as another name for Japan. Backtracking history, the Chinese Sui Dynasty referred to Japan as the country where the sun rises. Japan is on the east side of China so this correspondence makes sense.

Japan is one of the leading countries in the world, whether in terms of economy, tradition and culture, discipline, education, tourist spots, and food. Thus, making Japan as one of those countries majority of us wants to visit.

I have always wanted to visit Japan. Actually, I want to study in Japan, work in Japan, live in Japan. And so on and so forth. This Japan dream may have grown from the fact that you can do so many things in this country where opportunities are not as limited as others. I was fortunate enough to be delegated for a business trip to Japan last April 2017. And so let me share to you some of the things I have seen, experienced, and loved at Nippon.

Places where the train and my legs brought me

I visited Japan during the start of spring. The weather is actually fine, still with some cold remnants of winter. I am actually in awe to see the flowers bloom in streets and parks. Not only that, the architecture, traditional landmarks, temples, and even train stations are food for the eyes.

Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden

IMG_4172.JPG

This is a scenic view of the Sakura (Cherry Blossoms) in this park inside Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan. Look at that tower and a crow!

IMG_4071.JPG

This one's a random roof of a temple inside this national park.

IMG_4187.JPG

Featuring the flowers of Shinjuku Gyoen!
Top-left is a weeping sakura known for its downward-growing branches.
Bottom-left is a normal cherry blossom in its pinkish bloom.
Bottom-right is a white sakura tree standing tall at around 15 ft.
Top-right is a just a beautiful red flower I've seen while walking around :P

Admission to Shinjuku Gyoen costs only 200 Yen. This wide park offers huge picnic areas where the Japanese usually go to celebrate hanami, a cherry blossom festival.

IMG_4184.JPG

Yokohama World Porters
Top-Left picture

This is a theme park and mall combined located at the Yokohama Port. Lots of stuff can be bought here, usually goods for souvenirs. The theme park also have various rides that you can enjoy.

Asakusa Station/Senso-ji Temple
Top-Right and Bottom-Left picture

The grandiose structure on the top-right picture is not a mall or what, it's a train station! It's located at Asakusa, Tokyo, Japan.
The picture on the bottom-left side is the Senso-ji Temple, just a few walks from the Asakusa station. This is a buddhist temple located near the Sumida river. You can buy cheap foods and souvenirs here! There's also an Omikuji Paper Fortune here. I got a bad fortune even saying that I'll get trouble finding true love. Awwwww :(

IMG_4180.JPG

Found these lanterns at Senso-ji. Pretty, aren't they?

Tokyo SkyTree
Bottom-Right picture

This is the world's tallest tower, standing at a height of 634 meters. It is a broadcasting, restaurant, and observation tower at Sumida, Tokyo, Japan.

IMG_4189.JPG

My Otaku self is screaming as I went to Tokyo SkyTree Pokemon Center and some shops selling anime/cartoon related products.

Some other places to visit here are the following:

  • Shibuya Crossing at Shibuya, Tokyo to experience the "rumored" busiest intersection in the world. And of course, to meet Hachiko's statue.
  • Akihabara Shopping District for cheap electronics, toys, and anime goods.
  • Ginza Shopping District, an entertainment and shopping district in Tokyo. Famous brands can be found here building per building. Check out the Uniqlo 12-storey building! The Ginza's roads are closed during weekends to give way to many shoppers.
    IMG_2999.JPG
    See those shoppers freely occupying the road.

First Love : Food

Of course, visiting Japan will never be complete without trying good food! Here's what I've tried:

food.jpg
Almost every Japanese restaurants serve these Katsu set (Top-Left) at around 600 to 1000 Yen. It's a complete meal with meat, veggies, rice, and fruits.
The Bottom-left picture is a cheesy donburi set. It's mouth-watering!
Of course, a must-try food, Ramen! The top-right is an Ichiran ramen while the bottom-right is a tsukemen, also known as "dipping ramen". So this dish is served with separate noodles and rich soup/broth. Dip it your own, as they say. :D

--------------------------------

I have only visited Japan during its spring season. I will definitely go back to experience some more. As this blog post concludes, let me share to you a picture of sakura at meguro river also popular for Japanese hanami.

EAOKE2513.JPG

Sort:  

Great post! like the work you put in, Japan been once really enjoyed it.
Hope you do well and will enjoy this platfrom.
I traveled for four years and post about it now. hope you like it.
Will keep my eyes out for your posts

Thank you! You do have good entries too!

I see that you're good at taking pictures. And I really like them. What are you using then? Might as well give me some tips in taking pictures using phone only. :)

I do take pictures using my phone! Well gotta make sure your phone can do macro and you're all good. You just need to focus on your subject then fire away :) afterwards, i process the pictures on photoshop or some mobile apps like snapseed. :)

Nice Archie, great post. 👏👏😊

So jealous right now! Been dreaming to visit Japan in Spring time. Someday. Great post btw. Keep it up @jughead15

Thanks! I'll wait for when you get to visit Japan 😁

Japaannn!!! Definitely on my travel wishlist.

Hope you'll get to visit it soonest!

yeahhh,,, perhaps when my kids are a little bigger. :D

Wow! Sugoi! I hope I'll get there someday too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49