You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Pro Answers #2: @Chefsteve Asks: How Do you Avoid Food Born Illness When Traveling?

in #travel7 years ago

When I started traveling, I could have really used these tips! I knew nothing, so I tried any food I wanted to try, including many dishes on open-air markets. During 7 weeks in Bolivia I had stomach problems four times and the last time I ended up in the hospital with food poisoning... Since then I have learned to select my food more carefully, but still, I got sick quite a lot while traveling in Latin America.
I agree with you that food-wise Asia really beats Latin America by far (even though Peru has some pretty good food!). But even in Malaysia, where I have had some of the most amazing food yet, I got sick of an Indian dish. A whole chilli pepper had somehow managed to smuggle on my plate and before I saw it I had swallowed it. Instantly my face became red and my stomach refused to take any food for days...
I will get some colloidal silver for my next trip, I did not know about that yet.
This one has been my favorite article of yours yet, keep doing what you are doing! :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Yes this is one of my favorite articles I have done too. A lot of helpful information I made sure to include. Yes, nowhere is perfect, that is for sure; but by no means at all am I surprised when you agree that Latin America is much worse than Asia in general. Sorry you got so ill in Bolivia that you had to go to the hospital! Yikes. I too have learned the hard way, but with over 11 years of travel experience i mostly third world countries I've gotten really smart about what I choose to ingest. Thanks again for your wonderful comments! -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30