You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Life Captured #30: Krabi Town Thailand! Part Two (17 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

While the touristy beaches bored me at some point, the local life in the cities actually was the most interesting part of Southern Thailand to me, thanks for bringing back some memories!

I couldn't help but notice the Krungsri ATM, I remember being shocked about the ATMs in Thailand charging me a fee of 200 Baht for every withdrawal which is a lot when you can get 10 coconuts for the same price! :D

Sort:  

yeah, I had a stratedgy to take out 400 USD worht of baht whenever I needed cash. Also charge things on my debit card when possible (no fee transaction) Some countries that's just how it goes. Now if you had an account and card with Krugsri I think the fee drops down to like 20 baht. I used to have Bangkok Bank account. You can open one on a tourist visa. Bring traveler checks up to 10G into the country and deposit it there. That's what I did, when I biked 2000kl around southeast asia for a year. Agree with you totally, The life of a town or city can be way more interesting they staring off into the sea hour after hour. But I find pleasure in both! Happy new year my friend!

I also carried quite a lot of money and paid with my card to avoid the high fees. I have a credit card from a German bank that does not charge me any foreign transaction fees and in almost every country I am able to use any ATM free of charge; Opening a local bank account seems like a great option for a longer stay.
You did a bike trip for a year around South East Asia? This sounds like an amazing experience. I have done some smaller trips for up to two weeks in Australia, but nothing compared to your trip.
Happy New Year!

Happy New Year too my friend. Cool to see how much we have in common. Yes that trip went on through 6 countries and about 14 months! One of the best years of my life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50