Food Travel: The Oldest Restaurant In The World!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0572.PNG
Greetings Fellow Steemians!

Planning on travelling to the capital of Spain? Or to visit again? Then don't miss to include Restaurante Botin on your bucket list. A must when in Madrid!

Restaurante Sobrino De Botin or Restaurante Botin is the oldest restaurant in the world according to the Guinness Book of Records.

It was founded in 1725 by a French cook called Jean Botin and his Asturian wife at the beginning of the 18th century. Today the restaurant is run by the third generation of the Gonzalez family, Antonio and Jose Gonzalez. It is located in the heart of Madrid, at the foot of the Arco de Cuchilleros next to the Plaza Mayor.
IMG_0568.JPG

IMG_0564.JPG

IMG_0567.JPG

And how it's like to eat at the oldest restaurant and one of the touchstones of Madrid’s traditional cuisine? For me, It's a bit pricey but for the bragging rights to say that you've ate at the worlds oldest living restaurant, it's well worth a trip.

Botin is also famous for their house specialty, cochinillo asado (roast suckling pig) and the cordero asado (roast lamb). I chose the roasted suckling pig which is roasted in their original wood oven! I ordered it because it's just the same as the lechon baboy from my home country, Philippines. (In PH it is prepared throughout the year for any special occasion, festivals and other holidays. Traditionally cooked slowly over charcoal, rotated by using a bamboo spit) DA51A254-C683-4CF2-9A82-35912556CA48-295-00000030C01B03EB.jpeg

IMG_0573.PNG

IMG_0570.PNG

725FC672-906D-4511-B67D-B54E25A7120C-295-000000386F8E4CDD.jpeg

IMG_0587.PNG

Table reservation can be book online through their website, The Fork or just walk-in.

Hope you enjoy my first food travel blog! ❤️️

Sort:  

Wow, thats something I have to try if I ever visit Madrid. I am planning to travel a lot next year as soon as I finish the IB. Which places where most people understand english will you recomend? I would like to visit somewhere that is not only for tourists, where you can get to know the culture of the country.

We didn't have a problem about the language because the staff at the hotel where we stayed (ayre gran hotel colon), the restaurants we dine including the Botin do speak english. There's also a multi language guided tour if you want to know more about the culture. 👇🏼

Get your guide: https://www.getyourguide.com/s/?q=Madrid&date_from=2017-08-31&date_to=2017-08-31&customerSearch=1

Trip advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attractions-g187514-Activities-Madrid.html

@dafro we always checkout this websites everytime we plan to travel. It's very useful because you can see other travellers reviews also. Hope you find this useful too & goodluck! ❤️️

Very cool. We will have to stop by there the next time we're in Madrid. Thanks for sharing, looking forward to following your travels @joville!

Your welcome @nomadcouple. I've seen that you've been to Paris also & looking forward on your next adventures too! ❤️️

Great pics. Seems like a wonderful spot to visit.

It's charming inside & good food, worth a visit.

Upvote and follow 💕🙋

Gracias preciosa @curlyjor ❤️️

Nice post

nice recommendation @joville whos that girl ?
is that you ?

Yep, I used my own photos on my blogs. That's me last year w/ curly hair.

I'm in Thailand now where the food is extremely inexpensive, so I agree that is a bit pricey. I would love to eat in the room with the brick arch - that is fantastic.

So glad to connect today. You have interesting posts. I would change one of your tags to Spain or Madrid so people interested in the place can find you for this one :) Upvoted.

I'm an asian (filipina) but never been in Thailand. It's on my bucket list though. Would love to go in krabi or phucket someday & thanks for the tag suggestion, appreciated.

Cheers @fittinfun!

Hi joville :) I have been in the North of Thailand and Bangkok but not to the islands or coast in almost a year and a half here! I've flown over a few times and it is stunning from the air. The water color is amazing and little beaches everywhere. I'm sure you will love it when you get here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45