Yosemite: A Nature Lover's ParadisesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Let me just begin by saying THANK YOU!

I was absolutely blown away by the response I received on my previous post about San Francisco. I truly appreciate everyone who takes the time to read what I write. It's a passion of mine, and this platform has been great for me so far.

That being said, let's embark on our next expedition together:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yosemite National Park

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

IMG_4952.jpg

Me standing in front of Half Dome

Personally, I believe Yosemite should be on the bucket list of every individual who has heard about it. The pure beauty that this place encompasses is unsurpassed throughout California (in my opinion). Yosemite has the power to make people feel weak in the knees and strong in the heart, all in a single glance. If I had to describe Yosemite in one word, it wouldn't be some basic adjective; it would be 'love'. The region emanates love in abundance.

IMG_2486.JPG

Part of a stunning granite dome

Similar to our experience with San Francisco, we have visited Yosemite twice, but this trip was much better spent. We made it our goal to see all of the main features inside the park while still leaving us enough time to explore some of the lesser known areas. Depending on which way you come into the park, the first sight you may see is called "Tunnel View". Funnily enough, this name comes from the tunnel that you drive through right before seeing the massive valley expanding out before you.

IMG_2709.jpg

Tunnel View in the early morning

With it being arguably the most famous view in the park, it comes as no surprise that the beauty is astounding. The massive granite wall to the left is named "El Capitan". Meaning "The Captain", the name is fitting due to the feeling of the giant wall watching over the entire valley, keeping a close eye on its pure and loving inhabitants. It's comforting, really, to have a steadfast entity of sorts, surveying over all, watchful yet not judgmental.

IMG_2681.jpg

El Capitan, in all its glory

All throughout Tunnel View, you can see rivers, waterfalls, giant redwoods, and beautiful wildflowers. But if you look straight back in the center, peeping over the hill, a strange figure shyly says hello. Half Dome. This feature is most certainly one of the most wild I have ever seen. The name seems quite specific, and it's equally accurate. Upon getting closer to Half Dome for a better view, you can clearly imagine a once full dome being sliced in half by the mighty forces of nature. It takes my breath away. Whenever I see Half Dome, whether in person or in a picture, I always think about climbing it. What a rush that would be! I am a very amateur climber, but this has already become a goal of mine. I don't know where or when, but it'll happen, and I'll kiss the top when I get there.

IMG_2746.jpg

The majestic Half Dome

One of the day trips we took within the park was a short hike to the top of Sentinel Dome. The word 'dome' is nothing short of literal, for we climbed straight up the side of a full, granite dome. It was amazing! The hike was short (about 2.2 miles), but the reward was immense. There is a full 360 degrees of sights to see from the top of the dome, none of it short of gorgeous.

IMG_4953.JPG

A view from the top (El Capitan on the right)

Along the hike, I realized that there were massive pinecones off the beaten path a bit. Pinecones have become a sort of symbol in my life, mainly for the reason that I always enjoy regions that pinecones are existent. While it may sound strange, I grew up as a child being around pinecones, and I never miss a moment to pick one up and appreciate the beauty of it. In Yosemite, the beauty doesn't only exist on a large scale; the smaller things need to be appreciated too! By taking the time to look around, you might be surprised by the simplistic beauty of every little piece.

IMG_4925.JPG

Big ol' pinecone

Yosemite truly has so much to offer. And there's something for everyone! If hikes aren't your thang, Yosemite Village down in the Valley is a great place to hangout. With museums, shops, and galleries, the beauty of Yosemite is everywhere.

This is a very special place to me, and I hope that I got to share some of my love for it with you!

If you want to stay updated on my family's travels around North America, follow me! There will be many more beautiful places to see, and I will be sharing them with you all :-)

~ Josiah T. B.

Sort:  

amazing shots dear.. love the rock mountains.. and the pine cone of course!

Thank you! It’s much appreciated

Fabulous post....Yosemite is definitely on my bucket list for 2018 :)

Thank you! You won’t regret going :-)

This is one of the most intoxicating parks especially During the fall in the entire USA.

So true! Yosemite in the fall is truly spectacular

These are some truly incredible shots. Your landscapes look amazing!

Thank you! I love to take pictures in Yosemite.

Great shots, did you do any hiking?

Sure did! Just a few short ones, but beautiful nonetheless.

Oh my! This post is quite a beauty, Jos. Thanks for sharing <3

Thank you so much! I'm glad I got to share with you again :-)

Thank you! I appreciate it

I submitted your last post and i wish i could submit this too but it has to be a period of 7 days.

Just keep on steeming.

I love your work

I really appreciate it! Thank you for reading, it truly means the world to me. There will be more to come :-)

U R WELCOME

U R WELCOME

Incredible shots! Brought back some memories. I climbed El Capitan last year.

Wow, what a crazy experience that must have been. That is no easy feat! How long did it take you?

Wow amazing photos! Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you! :-)

You are welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70