Lands End to John O'Groats (LEJOG) Training blog #1

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Guys,

Three weeks ago I decided I would take on a new adventure. Next summer I'm going to take on the classic endurance cycle challenge that is LEJOG. That is, to cycle on a bike the length of the UK (around 1000 miles) in 10 days or less.
lejog1.jpg
I thought I'd blog my newbie training and the actual event for you fine people of Steemit!

STEP 1:
The first step was to buy a new bike for the challenge! After some research and advice I decided on a road bike that can have mud guards and optional panniers attached to it. Having decided pretty early on that I will be staying in hostels and B&B's, I didn't think I'd need a full on Touring bike. I eventually settled on the B'Twin Triban 540 by Decathlon. It won Cycling weekly's 'Best Value Bike of the Year 2017' (http://www.cyclingweekly.com/reviews/road-bikes/btwin-triban-540).
btwin.jpg

STEP 2:
Buy a good book to help with the huge task of organising the trip: from nutrition all the way to what route to take.
lejogbook.jpeg
I have found this website extremely useful so far as well! https://www.cyclelejog.com/

STEP 3:
Do some training!
I took the new bike out for a spin Saturday morning and it handles great! Below is a strava screen shot of the first training session. I feel A LOT of training is going to be needed to reach the goal of 100 miles per day for 10 days straight!
training1.jpg

This is just the first of hopefully a series of blogs documenting my progress from cycling newbie to King of The Mountains!
If you have any advice please feel free to comment.
I hope you enjoy watching the progress I make. :)

Feel free to follow me @johnriv to get the next blog as it comes.

Full Steem ahead! ;)

Sort:  

May good weather be your company. =)

Yes let hope it doesn't rain too much next year! :D

Well, it is the U.K., so a bit of inclement is to be expected. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51