The city of Amsterdam. Are the dutch rude people?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Amsterdam the city of of flowers? Is Amsterdam all it's cracked up to be or is it just another city with some strange quirks?
I have been to the city many times and was there for the change over to euro's in 2000.
amsterdam.jpg
What should you expect when you visit Amsterdam? It's like any other city and you must watch yourself as the streets are paved with junkies, Scammers, Pick pockets and other strange people. Be prepared to pay over the odds for anything you might want and always check your change as the dutch had real problems with counting change it would seem but were fine with counting payments. I had a good laugh putting a few of these con artists in there place and made a thing out of it with my buddy where we would make bets to guess if the next shop owner would try short changing us lol and my friend can speak dutch very well so telling them in dutch was a bonus. The art galleys and buildings are stunning and some of the foreign immigrants were the best people we met over there the canal trips were also a must. City tax and tip demanded were very common but don't feel you have to tip, I reserve all my tips for people who are nice and give a good service so tipping for me over there was rare.
If you want a real laugh then go to the coffee shop dutch flowers and try to say hello to the owner!.
I think it might just be there culture makes them seem rude and arrogant but just treat them how they treat you and be aware you should expect rude comments and poor serve overall. I will say we did find a few really nice Ducth people, but most seemed to to be rude so be on your guard. Me and my friend had a very entertaining time correcting the constant change sorting and got to a point where we would both laugh in the faces of any dutch trying this. I believe they call being rude "directness" which is fine by me as I can also be direct when needed. I found the dutch overall very thin skinned and rude, If people are direct with you be direct back or laugh at them this works. I have been to three other city's in the Netherlands and found Amsterdam being number one for change shorting attempts, all three had the rude arrogant vibe about the people there.

A very interesting read.Netherlands rated most unfriendly country for Expats.
http://www.dutchdailynews.com/unfriendly-country-expats/
The Netherlands has been rated among the most unfriendliest countries in the world for expatriates by Forbes magazine while Canada is rated the most friendliest country for expats.

This rings very true for me, Canadian people rock :)

I always do my best to be nice but wont stand for being cheated out of change. If you are planning on going to the Netherlands then please bare this in mind and its a classic if you have a dutch speaking person with you to correct them of there constant change shorting, Most went bright red lol others put there heads down.

Like I said we did meet a few nice people but overall you should expect what I mention above and if you find everyone is nice to you then it's a bonus.

I am in no way saying everyone you meet in Holland will be rude or try to steal from you, The main city's are the places to be most careful. I think the rudeness come's down to English being there second language. They come across very direct and what most first English speaking people consider inappropriate improper manors.

Always smile :)

Sort:  

I have heard many say the same about Holland. I will resteem this one :) Hope this helps you Milky.

Thanks for looking and re steeming! :)

Oh wow, I would never have guessed. Visiting amsterdam is on my radar, hopefully by end of year - this is helpful :)

You should be Okay now you have read this :) Have a great trip when you do visit there are many cool things to do over there you just need to be careful. Milky

Yes Brother.. I also had to short change incidents. Golty

Yeah just check every time and you can avoid this happening, It is a bit of a pain but worth it. Thanks Golty

lmao this is so true.

lol Thank you Jake

I enjoyed reading this and will bare in mind what you mention here so I ever visit there, lol I don't have a dutch speaking friend.

Good post John keep it up buddy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14