You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #88 : A visit to Cleopatra's Antique Pool and the Ancient Theatre!

in #travel7 years ago

There you are set against ghostly limestone and bathing in thermal springs like a true Roman, @sweetsssj.

The haunting walls and white travertine terraces provide the perfect backdrop for this voyage back to antiquity.

Imagine, Cleopatra's baths!

The restored pools look lovely and I was glad to see they respectfully kept the ruined statuary in situ and this only added to the allure and the sense of mystery.

I can see from the photos that you and Tania were sipping at the fountain of youth :)

I was most impressed with the ancient theatre. I know that besides providing a forum for plays and dramatic performances, it was also used for aquatic displays as well.

The decision to photograph the theatre by night was a touch of genius - the ruins looked breathtaking against the sunset and distant city lights.

Of course, there's the inevitable commercialization of ancient sites, but I think in this case everything seemed tastefully done and with respect to the baths, the restoration actually enhanced the site while leaving the history intact.

I must compliment you and your photographer on the excellent photos - it was a dizzying panorama of glimpses into ancient Hierapolis and its many sights.

The videos deepened the narrative by taking us into the heart of what you yourself were experiencing as you swam in the warm mineral baths and sat in the ancient stone seats of the amphiteatre.

A beautiful and informative post, @sweetsssj

Sort:  

john, thanks for this very supplementary comment. As you might have guessed, I too was most impressed with the ancient theatre, even if the pool was probably more relaxing.

I actually visited the theatre three times, twice at night, and once during the day. It's such an amazing place to be, granted the day was extremely stiffling so that explains my preference for visiting at night.

I guess without commercializing the place some what, people just wouldn't know or come visit, and perhaps that wouldnt be good either. I'm all for it as long as you say it is tastefully done.

I'm glad you enjoyed the post john, looking forward to seeing you in the next one!

thanks, sssj - I really appreciate learning about these locales, and living vicariously through you LOL!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82